We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Business stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My stay at the Double Tree was excellent. The rooms, halls, lobby was clean, smelled fresh. The workout facility was good. The restaurant had great food and wonderful service. The staff treated me like I was an important guest and I had a great night sleep. Location was close to downtown, hospital and university.I will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are very happy to hear that your business stay from check-in to check-out was excellent as it is our goal to exceed each of our guest’s expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers, and we hope to serve you again in the near future. We will be sure to have a DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    151
    32
    14
    7
See reviews for
151
77
54
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here for business and it was a good experience. The hotel is located in a convenient location and offer free parking at a downtown property. There are lots of restaurants nearby and they are open late. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers. We are pleased that you had a great business stay with us, and it’s wonderful to hear that you especially enjoyed our convenient downtown location (including complimentary parking), within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Location is great: right on campus, close to business school, close to State Street

Rooms are clean, workout facility is good

Food options are limited to traditional American hotel choices, i would recommend eating at a restaurant near to the hotel

Price is a little more than other options, but you get what you pay for. I have also noticed that this hotel is quick to increase prices on busy weekends.

One note: if you bring a car, make sure that you get a token from the front desk before exiting. You need a token to open the gate to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are pleased you had a great stay with us while traveling on business, and are happy to hear that you particularly enjoyed our convenient downtown location, our newly renovated guest rooms, and our 24-hour complimentary fitness center. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us as we know you have several options in the downtown area, and we hope you will stay with us again in the future – hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Every person on the staff I encountered treated me like I was their only guest. Best service I've had anywhere. I felt like I was home, with the personal attention I received, rather than in a moderately large hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It makes our day to hear that you had an amazing experience with us, and that because of the personal level of attention you received, you felt like you were home, which is our goal we hope to achieve with every single guest. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while in town, and we hope to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed just 1 night, but the experience was so good that we will return the next time we stay in Madison! The lobby was very crowded when we arrived but the staff at the front desk was very fast in checking us all in. The rooms were very nice and clean. The best part was the free shuttle that took us to our destinations nearby the hotel. The drivers were very nice and were very prompt to pick us up. In a place where the driving is kind of crazy it's nice to have a shuttle to do that task for you! All staff drop the hotel and restaurant were very friendly. Kudos to the Doubletree they did a great job and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, and for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while in town. We are very happy to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us, and that you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle. We know how convenient the shuttle can be especially when trying to navigate a city that you are unfamiliar with. In addition, we’re pleased to hear that our shuttle drivers provided you with such wonderful service as it is our goal to exceed each guest’s expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay, and we hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I found my stay very enjoyale topped off with an excellent breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if they were going to an event at the Kohl Center or had any type of business with the University of Wisconsin. It is located in a very convenient area for these types of events. In addition, the Double Tree is located near several restaurants which can be accessed by walking. If going some distance, the hotel does provide a shuttle service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers – we truly appreciate the great feedback. We’re pleased you enjoyed our delicious, hot breakfast buffet served in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill, and that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location. Whether you are attending an event at the Kohl Center, UW-Madison or on the Capitol Square, it is only a short walk away from our property; however, if you would prefer, our complimentary shuttle can always take you to your destination as well. We thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnes, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat!! The whole staff was friendly, efficient, accommodating. Very clean. We loved the hotel and the warm cookies upon arrival was a nice touch!! If your attending any events at
the Kohl Center this is the place to be (2 blocks from Kohl Center). The food was very good and the entire staff was outstanding!

Room Tip: I would upgrade to the deluxe two queen bedroom - breakfast comes with it, free bottled water and sn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and we sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback! We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you experienced our award-winning customer service from our team members in all departments. It is our goal to exceed each guest’s expectations, so it’s very rewarding to hear about how wonderful your stay and our service was. We agree with you – we think our location is fabulous, especially for those attending events at the Kohl Center and within the downtown area. Plus, with our complimentary shuttle service, we can take you anywhere in downtown Madison if you would prefer not to drive or walk. Thank you again for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Address: 525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Multi-Award Winning Doubletree Hotel Madison (a Hilton Family Brand) is conveniently located in the heart of downtown (within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants), featuring over 5,000 square feet of meeting space, an indoor pool/whirlpool with poolside food/beverage service and outdoor patios, 24-hour business center and fitness center, on-site restaurant/lounge (Badgerland Bar & Grill), complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, on-site parking, shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area (within 2 miles), high-definition LCD TVs, and same-day dry cleaning and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.