We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I found my stay very enjoyable topped off with an excellent breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
“I found my stay very enjoyable topped off with an excellent breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I found my stay very enjoyale topped off with an excellent breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if they were going to an event at the Kohl Center or had any type of business with the University of Wisconsin. It is located in a very convenient area for these types of events. In addition, the Double Tree is located near several restaurants which can be accessed by walking. If going some distance, the hotel does provide a shuttle service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers – we truly appreciate the great feedback. We’re pleased you enjoyed our delicious, hot breakfast buffet served in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill, and that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location. Whether you are attending an event at the Kohl Center, UW-Madison or on the Capitol Square, it is only a short walk away from our property; however, if you would prefer, our complimentary shuttle can always take you to your destination as well. We thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    168
    37
    14
    7
See reviews for
175
101
58
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnes, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat!! The whole staff was friendly, efficient, accommodating. Very clean. We loved the hotel and the warm cookies upon arrival was a nice touch!! If your attending any events at
the Kohl Center this is the place to be (2 blocks from Kohl Center). The food was very good and the entire staff was outstanding!

Room Tip: I would upgrade to the deluxe two queen bedroom - breakfast comes with it, free bottled water and sn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and we sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback! We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you experienced our award-winning customer service from our team members in all departments. It is our goal to exceed each guest’s expectations, so it’s very rewarding to hear about how wonderful your stay and our service was. We agree with you – we think our location is fabulous, especially for those attending events at the Kohl Center and within the downtown area. Plus, with our complimentary shuttle service, we can take you anywhere in downtown Madison if you would prefer not to drive or walk. Thank you again for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff the this hotel was very well trained --- courteous, helpful and professional. A great breakfast buffet and a great on-site restaurant with a wide menu that satisfied the kids along with mom and dad. Warm chocolate cookies upon arrival... what a bonus! Although a bit pricier that neighboring hotels, it was well worth it. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and for choosing to stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience from check-in to check-out. We look forward to welcoming your whole family back with our warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Doubletree by Hilton continues to be a great value in easy walking distance from State Street, Capitol Hill and the University of Wisconsin. Room was spacious and excellent.
Ben in the bar was especially helpful in pointing out an excellent Spanish tapas restaurant just a few blocks away on State Street.
The only challenge was my arrival. 4 cars with no drivers, even in the lobby, were parked in the entry way. This was complicated by the hotel van also totally blocking the entrance driver. Ergo, I had to unload my luggage on the 2nd floor parking garage, BUT there is no way to enter the hotel without a key on that level. A buzzer and microphone should be installed at the 2nd floor parking garage door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are very happy you enjoyed our great downtown location, located on the UW-Madison campus and within walking distance to the State Capitol, a large variety of restaurants, bars and other local attractions. In addition, we’re pleased that you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms, and we love hearing that Ben, from the Badgerland Bar & Grill, recommended great dining suggestions. However, we are very sorry to hear about your inconvenience upon arrival as we know how frustrating that can be. We do lock the second floor parking door after 3pm as a security precaution, but we will definitely consider implementing your suggestions since we are always looking for ways to improve guest satisfaction. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling on business, and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

For the money and everything else this was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff was courteous and helpful. They went out if their way to give us detailed directions on places we wanted to visit. They even gave us extra cookies. They had a courtesy shuttle that took us around town and picked us up when we were ready. The room was spotless and the bed was just about the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Plenty of space to move around in. Just plain comfortable. The breakfast buffet, though not included was wonderful. They even had steel cut oatmeal. Like I said, just about the best, if not the best, hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers. We are so pleased that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service that serves all of our hotel guests providing them service to/from the airport and within the downtown area. Additionally, we are pleased that our team was able to provide you with great service, and we will always have a warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie waiting for you! Thank you again for the wonderful review, and we are so happy that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed her many times and find it a great hotel. This is a great location with great customer service. Shuttle drivers rock. Can someone tell me how far in advance to book rooms for spring 2014 graduation?

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and we thank you for the wonderful feedback. We will be sure to share your great comments with the rest of your team, so thank you! Regarding making reservations for UW-Madison graduation for 2014, we will begin accepting reservations starting on Wednesday, June 5th at 9am CST. You can call us directly at 608-251-5511, or you can make reservations online at doubletreemadison.com, but we recommend that you make reservations as soon as possible as we sell out very quickly. Thank you again for the wonderful review and for your continued loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back – hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Bottom line, if you are in town for an event @ the Kohl Center you are merely a 5 minute walk away.

Overall the hotel appeared very clean, staff was friendly, the free breakfast buffet was a step up from your normal continental buffets. The workout facility on-site had very nice treadmills and an assortment of free weights - plus nautilus equipment all relatively new. Big bonus, free parking, for which on game day could save you 20$ or so.

Didn't have any time to stop in and partake in the on-site sportsbar - badgerland grill, but based on my keen observation after a Badgers win, everyone was having a very good time.

The only knock on the rooom accommodations were the water pressure - temperature (6th Floor) and the 1/2 solid shower door. Another words 1/2 of the stand up shower doesn't have a door so - you go from hot to cold pretty quickly.

Otherwise, you'll find this hotel in a great location and proximitiy to many bars - restaurants around the Kohl Center - Downtown - Capital area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling on business; we truly appreciate your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and especially enjoyed our award-winning team, our extensive hot breakfast buffet served in the Badgerland Bar & Grill, our convenient downtown location including complimentary parking and our complimentary 24-hour fitness center. In addition, we appreciate your comments regarding our newly renovated bathrooms, and we are sorry that the new guestroom shower didn't meet your expectations. We will be sure to share your feedback with our management. Thank you again for reviewing your experience, and we thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison. We hope to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#12 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Address: 525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Multi-Award Winning Doubletree Hotel Madison (a Hilton Family Brand) is conveniently located in the heart of downtown (within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants), featuring over 5,000 square feet of meeting space, an indoor pool/whirlpool with poolside food/beverage service and outdoor patios, 24-hour business center and fitness center, on-site restaurant/lounge (Badgerland Bar & Grill), complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, on-site parking, shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area (within 2 miles), high-definition LCD TVs, and same-day dry cleaning and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.