We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive room, no breakfast or even coffee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“expensive room, no breakfast or even coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The room itself was average size, but bathroom was very small. No counter space, and small ledge/counter behind toilet was a pain because things could fall into the toilet. No reading lights over bed. The 2 double bed room was 213.00 per night with taxes and fees and DID NOT include even a complimentary buffet or coffee. There wasn't even a coffee urn in the lobby! The cold breakfast buffet was $10 pp.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling on business. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the rate you paid for your room and the size of the bathroom. However, the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison is a full service property including an onsite restaurant, located in the middle of downtown Madison. We offer several options in terms of our guest rooms, and if you are interested in reserving a room that includes breakfast, we recommend our Deluxe level rooms as they include a full hot breakfast buffet served in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill. In addition, we are now in the process of remodeling all of our guest room bathrooms and converting them into spacious, walk in showers as well as making other improvements. Once the renovation is completed, we are sure you will be happy with the improvements. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience, and if you would like to further discuss your experience, please contact our hotel directly and ask to speak with our General Manager. We hope you will stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    160
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
162
88
55
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Double Tree Hotel in Madison is a nice hotel with an excellent location near the center and the university. The personnel is exquisitely friendly and aims to provide really good service, anyhow sometimes they are a little bit circumstantial. The rooms are well equipped and tidy and we had a great view to the Capitol. The breakfast buffet is good but could provide more fruits and vegetables as well as cheese and sausages. Only the spa was somehow disappointing since the pool is that shallow you can't swim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling on business and for the great comments! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences about your stay with other travelers. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our great downtown location, our award-winning and accommodating staff, and your guest room – we agree, the view of the Capitol is amazing! In addition, we’re glad you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet in our restaurant, and thank you for your suggestions – we will be sure to pass them on to our Director of Food & Beverage. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison; we hope to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here at least 6 times in the past few years, but this time paid triple. If I would have waited could have gotten a comparable hotel room at another nearby hotel for$150 less. But needed to cancel reservation 30 days prior to not be charged, so we did stay. Rooms nice, pool warm, cookies not even good this time had walnuts, breakfast good, but close to $400 for one night. Not worth it. Have one more child to attend UW-Madison, might not even stay here again because I felt used by the cost this time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for continuing to choose to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for your continued loyalty. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your guest room, our pool, and breakfast in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill. However, we’re sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with the rate you paid for your room. Unfortunately, you stayed during a home UW Badger football game so the hotel and the city of Madison were very busy. For future reservations, please contact our Director of Sales & Marketing. Furthermore, we are sorry that you didn’t care for our DoubleTree signature chocolate chip walnut cookie this time; however, walnuts have always been part of our secret recipe. In the future, we would be more than happy to offer you a different welcome treat such as your choice of assorted fruit instead of our cookie. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with friendly staff and updated rooms; bed was very comfortable. Price was quite high as it was a home badger football game and rates were increased. Great breakfast buffet! Complimentary warm and delicious cookies at check in and convenient on site parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and for the great feedback! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, our updated guest rooms, our delicious hot breakfast buffet located in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill, and our complimentary on-site parking. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers, and we look forward to your next stay with us – hopefully soon! We’ll be sure to have one of our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip walnut cookies waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a driving trip to Chicago. Room was comfortable, with excellent water pressure in the shower, but very small. Front desk staff were very helpful and polite. Food and service for dinner in the dining room/bar was awful and breakfast was not much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling to Chicago. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, especially the shower, and our friendly & helpful staff. However, we are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your dining experience in our restaurant. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience, and if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with our General Manager. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The DoubleTree Madison was quite satisfactory again this year.
I decided to pay just a little extra for the "premium" room. To be honest, there doesn’t seem to be anything special about the ROOM, but it comes with extras, including breakfast – and I did have a nice State House view.

The breakfast was better than I remembered – I think the bacon might be the best I have ever had at a breakfast buffet. I guess that alone is probably worth the upgrade to premium, at least if there are two people in the room.
I've stayed elsewhere in Madison, but I would not pay more for any self-styled fancier place. The DoubleTree is good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers. It truly makes our day to hear that you had such a fantastic experience in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill, for breakfast. We definitely agree with you – the bacon is amazing, and it's a great way to start your day! Thank you again for the great comments, and for your continued loyalty - we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south windsor, CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This quiet, clean, comfortable, hotel is located in a convenient spot to explore downtown Madison as well as the University of Wisconsin. We walked, biked, and explored delicious ethnic restaurants every day, and tasted local beers at night. The front desk employees were always willing to guide us. After exploring all day, we were grateful for the good night's sleep that the Doubletree gave us. The airport shuttle was also a great amenity. Thanks for helping to make our weekend fun and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers, and for choosing to stay with us while traveling with your family. We greatly appreciate the wonderful comments, and we’re glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay from check-in to check-out. Thank you again for the great feedback, and we look forward to serving your family again, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Address: 525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Multi-Award Winning Doubletree Hotel Madison (a Hilton Family Brand) is conveniently located in the heart of downtown (within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants), featuring over 5,000 square feet of meeting space, an indoor pool/whirlpool with poolside food/beverage service and outdoor patios, 24-hour business center and fitness center, on-site restaurant/lounge (Badgerland Bar & Grill), complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, on-site parking, shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area (within 2 miles), high-definition LCD TVs, and same-day dry cleaning and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.