We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3841 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Deerfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nothing spectacular, but more than adequate. Nice breakfast. Our tub drain did not hold water, so taking a bath was not possible. Not luxurious, but nothing in Madison is! It's 10 minutes from the University. So the location was convenient for us, and the price was comparably low.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind review,
we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are glad to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities we have to offer, I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    108
    122
    75
    53
See reviews for
174
66
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My family of 4 stayed 5-24-14 to 5-25-14 in a room with 2 double beds but very close to the pool and our vehicle. Beds were a tad to hard for me and the hubbers liking but ehhhh no worries. Pool was a nice temp but the way we saw it when we left sunday night is the way we found it monday moring...no towels, dirty towels all over etc.....front desk staff was average except for the lovely lady that was there around 8am monday morning...she's a real gem, customer service is in her blood. If my business was in madison, I would snatch her right up! NOW ON TO BREAKFAST.....not only was it good but Mike I believe his name was, I just cant say enough about him....he greated us all individually and spoke to my hubbers about the weather and coffee....he was singing and making the rounds asking how everyone was doing. It is very rare to have someone with that kind of personality, and have it be genuine. He made our stay in all honesty, he was a breathe of fresh air in world where the level of customer is dependent on what they get paid.... will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind review,
we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are glad to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities we have to offer, I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

After a long day of driving, any place with a bed looked good. We asked for a quiet room as it was not terribly full. We were way around the back side, which was fine, but trying to find the lobby and breakfast was a challenge. Room was average, beds were very firm, typical amenities. Front desk staff was a bit preoccupied with friends, co-workers. I will say though, the breakfast was excellent and staff there very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Customer Satisfaction is our number one goal! I will have to have a talk with our staff to ensure that everyone stays in their assigned departments if that was the case, I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Bugs in the room, room not cleaned, moldy, smelled of mildew, ROOM DOOR DIDNT LOCK, heater was dirty and smelled of smoke when operated, housekeeping.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. I will forward this to our manager, We do inspect every room before they are rented to ensure they are up to guests and HOJO Standards. All of our Guest rooms doors lock on our property, as they should at every hotel to ensure guest safety, we even lock our main doors at 11PM and have a security officer onsite. We are in the process of a remodel, we just recieved new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just reupdated our largest indoor pool in madison! We also just finished upgrading our T.V's to Flatscreens! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Reguards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 3841 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at our Madison Wisconsin Hotel the Howard Johnson Plaza.The hotel is located next to the Dane County Regional Airport, adjacent to East Towne Mall and near downtown Madison and all of Madison Wisconsin’s area attractions. The hotel is also only minutes away from Madison’s Central Business district, governmental offices and the University of Wisconsin. Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel features modern accommodations and convenient services with the largest indoor swimming pool in the Madison area, free Internet access, complimentary hot breakfast buffet, a 24 hour Airport Shuttle and lowest room rate guarantees are just few of the other perks you can enjoy as our guest at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.