We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3841 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not a place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I ended up staying in this hotel because all other hotels were over booked because of a Dairy conference going on in Madison at the same time. I paid $160 for a $75 a night hotel and it was stinking at many places.

The breakfast menu was same for all 5 days and WIFI connectivity was not working in my room to make things worse.

The only positive is, it is closer to many eating options within 1 mile.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. I will forward these concerns to our general manager to ensure everything gets handled accordingly, We are in the process of a remodel, we just received new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just re-updated our largest indoor pool in madison! This next week we are also getting new Wireless Internet! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    100
    119
    73
    48
See reviews for
162
60
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winterville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The staff in this facility were fabulous, however, the facility needs help. Outdated, dirty, water wasn't working, no vent in bathroom, toilet didn't flush properly, WIFI was sketchy at best, breakfast was not good (although the staff was delightful and sang), loud slamming doors in hallway near rooms, awkward room numbering, no ventilation in exercise room. It was also be helpful to have restaurants in walking distance of the hotel. I would say the bar tender and cheap drinks during happy hour was the highlight of the facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. I will forward these concerns to our general manager to ensure everything gets handled accordingly, We are in the process of a remodel, we just received new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just re-updated our largest indoor pool in madison! This next week we are also getting new Wireless Internet! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Howard Johnson's hotel for two nights this past weekend, as we came to town for the Badger Football Game. We had an excellent experience!

The room and bathroom were very clean; the shower was hot. I believe I heard someone say that the beds were all newly purchased, but either way, they were super comfortable! We slept like logs!

The staff was very friendly. They even helped us get ready for the big game by providing us with matches and buckets of ice to fill our coolers at no additional charge! The hotel is conveniently located next to a wonderful grocery store with a huge deli section, so we were able to pick up a few last minute items for the tailgate party! The hotel even offers a shuttle bus contact option to and from the game for a very reasonable price. ($10) But since the hotel is located so close to the Badger area (I think we took one road to get there...very easy!) we just drove ourselves. The hotel staff even gave us some tips on good places/lots to tailgate, and how early to arrive to make sure we got a spot!

The pool area is very spacious, with a very large hot tub. We appreciated that the pool area was open an extra hour or two later than most hotels (11pm), so we were able to warm up after being outside all day for the game!

We were stuffed after the hot complimentary breakfast each day which included scrambled eggs, french toast, sausage, potatoes, and more! The server went out of his way to make sure we began our day on a cheerful note...singing while he worked, wishing everyone a good morning, handing out compliments, and entertaining the children with rhymes and Donald Duck impressions.

We plan to come back to Madison this winter for Badger hockey and basketball games, and again next fall for more football! We plan to stay at the HoJo every time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! ! I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff, We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 3841 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at our Madison Wisconsin Hotel the Howard Johnson Plaza.The hotel is located next to the Dane County Regional Airport, adjacent to East Towne Mall and near downtown Madison and all of Madison Wisconsin’s area attractions. The hotel is also only minutes away from Madison’s Central Business district, governmental offices and the University of Wisconsin. Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel features modern accommodations and convenient services with the largest indoor swimming pool in the Madison area, free Internet access, complimentary hot breakfast buffet, a 24 hour Airport Shuttle and lowest room rate guarantees are just few of the other perks you can enjoy as our guest at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.