We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beds were not comfortable at all. The TV had 5...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3841 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Madison
TUSCOLA
1 review
“The beds were not comfortable at all. The TV had 5...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The beds were not comfortable at all. The TV had 5 channels. The overall experience was not a pleasant one. Would not recommend this hotel or stay there again. I will say that the hotel staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We are in the process of switching out our beds here at the hotel and upgrading to new beds also here at the hotel we have premium satellite channels plus showtime as well! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    100
    119
    73
    48
See reviews for
162
60
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
nashville tenn.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

it was a dirty room with stained sheets and cig burns in the covers lamp no work & carpet stained, but it was cheap it was late we were tired...... will not stay there again,the breakfast was good the staff was friendly it was room 121 ~ 11/22/12
worst motel (of 3) for the whole trip hojo ~~~ NO IMO

Room Tip: check the room before you agree to sleep here old mattress was a lump
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hi, my cousins and my sister and I enjoyed much of our stay in your hotel. There were a couple of things that would have made the stay better. The bed I had was not firm enough for me. I have fibromyalgia, and the lack of support ended up making me have pain. The games room did not have a change machine in it, which was a bit inconvenient. When we went to breakfast on Sunday morning, I was looking forward to having some conversation with my family before we all went our separate ways. An employee whose name I believe was something like Mike Rudd brought food out to replenish one of the breakfast items. He was very nice and polite, but he began to sing, loudly. His voice was not bad, and it would have been cute for 1-2 songs, but he continuted to sing at the top of his lungs all during our breakfast, and bragged about an award or two that he's received for his singing. We could not hear each other talk over breakfast and ate as quickly as we could to get out of the dining area. Later after my cousins left and my sister and I went to the lobby to waiti for our ride, we could still hear the man singing. Other guests that had eaten breakfast at the same time we did commented to us that they were not pleased with the meal-long concert either. I appreciate very much this employee's friendliness and good rapport with the guests, but I think he needs to be told to limit his singing and to stay on task with the job he was hired to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We do have a change machine on site located inbetween the bar and game room for both of there convience, We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 3841 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at our Madison Wisconsin Hotel the Howard Johnson Plaza.The hotel is located next to the Dane County Regional Airport, adjacent to East Towne Mall and near downtown Madison and all of Madison Wisconsin’s area attractions. The hotel is also only minutes away from Madison’s Central Business district, governmental offices and the University of Wisconsin. Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel features modern accommodations and convenient services with the largest indoor swimming pool in the Madison area, free Internet access, complimentary hot breakfast buffet, a 24 hour Airport Shuttle and lowest room rate guarantees are just few of the other perks you can enjoy as our guest at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.