We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The employes are rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3841 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #48 of 63 Hotels in Madison
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The employes are rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

When we checked in the employes wouldn't come out of the back room for 15 minutes and then they did all they said was "what do you want we're busy" they were very rude plus the worst part was when we found bed bugs in our room and they wouldn't pay for our belongings to get washed. Plus all the free breakfast was gone.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria W, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I apologize to hear about the poor customer service you received your stay. Here at the Howard Johnson Plaza we strive for great customer service and we strive to accommodate to all of our guests. About the Bed bugs incident I am the front desk manager here at the hotel and this was never brought to my attention and I do apologize about that If I would have known I would have gladly given you money to get everything you needed washed. I do apologize that my staff didn't forward that information. About the breakfast in the morning I do apologize about that aswell I'm not sure what time you came down for breakfast but weekdays monday -friday it runs from 6am -9am then on sat and sunday it runs from 6-10am. If there is anything I can do to accommodate any future stay here at the howard johnson plaza please give me a call at 608-244-2481 and ask for kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    90
    108
    66
    45
See reviews for
146
54
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The kids saw some bugs under the bed when we first checked in, by the morning they were in the closed container of cookies and in our clothes. YUK!! The AC stopped working at midnight and we just had to sweat it out the rest of the night. I told the front desk in the morning and was told they would have maintenance check it out. Will NEVER stay there again. My husband said he felt a few bugs crawling on him in the middle of the night. I think they were silverfish bugs.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Im sorry to hear about your stay, At the howard johnson plaza we try to accommodate to all of our guests, If there was any issues with the room at check in we would have been glad to upgrade your room for you. Im sorry to hear about the bug/ A/C issues. Our A/C units here at our hotel are set to run on cycle so they dont blow constant air but we always have the option to switch that for our guests if you let the front desk know. We would like to know about issues right away so we can accommodate for our guests needs, I know due to the late night time frame switching rooms wouldn't have been a inconvience for you. We have informed our maintance staff on the bug issue and they have constantly been spraying for bugs, due to the unnormal heat in madison there have been alot more bugs then usual. Again we strive for customer satisfaction here at the Howard Johnson Plaza and we hope your previous stay dosen't interfear with any future stays at our hotel.

Warmest Reguards
Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmen, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our first time staying in Madison as part of a family vacation. When booking the hotel, I only read the good reviews (BAD CHOICE!). This is a vacation not worth remembering. When we got to the hotel, we checked in at 2pm. We entered our room to find out that they didn't have the air on (it was over 100* outside) and the room was 96*f. They didn't have the air on. It took until 10:30pm with the air on before it cooled off. The bathroom was nasty. There was mold in the tub, screws laying in the bottom of the tub, glass on the floor, and the light was only as bright as a night light. There weren't enough towels and pillows to accomidate the number of people staying in the room. We called down several times and asked for them. We were told they would bring them up as soon as possible. We called 6 times and were told by the girl who was working the desk that night, that she was the only one there, she was swamped and would get the stuff up to us as soon as possible. Everytime we went to the lobby to see if she would get it for us and we would take it up ourselves, she was outside smoking and drinking and talking to a bunch of guys. While she was out on her 'breaks' every 5 minutes, the phones were going off in the lobby, smoke alarms were going off on our floor and there was some strange and creepy man walking the halls. We had our 3 kids with us. By the time we got our stuff, it was 11:30pm. Our kids were over tired; there weren't enough towels to give them a bath and not enough pillows to put them to bed. We booked what we were told was a "Deluxe room with 2 queen sized beds." It was tiny and the bed were small and you could feel the spring through them. The halls, pool room and the room we were in were extremely hot. The pool should have been cool since it was over 100* outside. The "complimentary breakfast" was nothing to brag about. It looked like they reheated everything from days before. There was suppose to be a Bar and Grill. It was to open from 5pm-9pm. It was open 1 hour. The night attendant would go in and make herself and her "guy friends" drinks and close up again. There were no ice machines, the place smelled and looked like it hadn't been cleaned or maintenenced in years. The manager called us the next day to apologize. He said because we booked it through an outside souce, we couldn't get a refund. However, he was willing to give us 50% off our next stay. I made it very clear that we would NEVER AGAIN stay there. The hotel was run down, the staff was horrible, the rooms were nasty. This is a hotel that needs to be torn down.

Room Tip: Don't book a room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I do apologize about the terrible customer service you experienced staying at our hotel, Typically everynight of the week we have atleast 2 staff members on until 11pm. Unfortunately on the night you had stayed one of our front desk workers car had broke down on the way to work so they couldn't make it in. I'm not trying to make any excuses, I was the gentleman who had spoke with you over the phone and the way everything was handled on Friday was not typical for our hotel. Our Bar and lounge open at 5pm everyday besides Sundays and Mondays, they stay open until 9pm atleast because that is when our kitchen closes. I did review the video camera from Friday aswell seeing the desk was unattended for periods of time, part of that was for the front desks breaks which were over used that night and I do apologize, the other part was to deal with all of the towels that needed to be ran to the pool and rooms. We strive to give fast service here at our hotel, and also strive for cleanliness, We appreciate your input so when can help improve every aspect of our hotel.

Thanks again
Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Once a month I come to help with Stonecroft Ministries - brunch/speakers at this facility. I thoroughly enjoy the staff, facility and specially James, whom greets (all guests) as well our group of women as we come into the dining area. James does his work well. James does excellent job by greeting us with a great voice & variety of music.I always look forward
to meeting new Women in our community,fellowship and brunch.
Plus James" smile", energy... his positive ,wonderful uplifting gift of encouragement......to each guest there.
Great way to start your day off, plus see Madison and events in town. Comfortable stay.Highly recommend. Susan Wallsch

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza. I Will pass along all your postive feedback to Mike aswell he will be delighted to hear all the great news! We would like to thank you for all the wonderful comments and suggestions, We hope to hear from you again

Warmest Regards
Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The room was clean...but musty smelling until we opened the window and let some air in. I did not care for discoloration on the shower wall where it met the tub which could have been mold, although I wasn't sure. Also, the carpet in the hallway outside our room and in the hall was stained. Otherwise it was OK. Pretty good breakfast, clean lobby. Great dinner for our group during our meeting. That was tasty, hot and generally wonderful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the street as it was noisy when cars, sirens, etc went by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearence of the hotel. We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

We appreciate your input and hope you decide to stay with us again so we can make your overall experience more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Booked this hotel through an online site which rated the hotel 3 stars. Wouldn't rate 3 stars myself. Hallways hot and dank. Breakfast was good as long as you got there early. Went one day 10 mins before it was to end and there was nothing left except juice, decaf coffee and hash browns. The best part about the hotel was the man who ran the breakfast area - Michael. I would come back just to hear him sing again. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearence of the hotel. We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

We appreciate your input and hope you decide to stay with us again so we can make your overall experience more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrisburg, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

There were bugs in the rooms. Ours had ants, our family's had cockroaches, a women checking out when we were had spiders. There was no hot water in the breakfast area, so unless you are a coffee drinker you are out of luck. They had dry oatmeal in the hot breakfast steamers. DRY OATMEAL, who eats that. I ordered a glass of wine at the bar and it was so old and the glass it came in was so dirty I could not drink it. The housekeeper took from our room a beer box from a local brewery along with a paper bag that was in it that had items we had purchased at the brewery and the front desk was NO help in trying to find out what happened to it and she informed us that she did not have the authority to lower our bill to help offset the cost of the items that were taken. There was no apology, just a sense of annoyance that we would bother her with this issue. Over all the hotel was dirty and unfriendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria W, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We offer our complimentary breakfast buffet that includes eggs,pancakes, breakfast potatoes, sausage, also oatmeal and on the coffee counter is where the hot water is kept. I apologize about the insect problem, we do have our maintenance staff spray the courtyard and around the building to control any insect problem. We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

We appreciate your input and hope you decide to stay with us again so we can make your overall experience more enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 3841 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at our Madison Wisconsin Hotel the Howard Johnson Plaza.The hotel is located next to the Dane County Regional Airport, adjacent to East Towne Mall and near downtown Madison and all of Madison Wisconsin’s area attractions. The hotel is also only minutes away from Madison’s Central Business district, governmental offices and the University of Wisconsin. Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel features modern accommodations and convenient services with the largest indoor swimming pool in the Madison area, free Internet access, complimentary hot breakfast buffet, a 24 hour Airport Shuttle and lowest room rate guarantees are just few of the other perks you can enjoy as our guest at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.