We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Grand Canyon Drive, Madison, WI 53719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cannon Falls, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Regular Visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our daughter is a student and lives in Madison. We frequent the AmericInn Madison West and always have fantastic service! The staff is very friendly, the rooms are always clean, and the breakfast and manager's reception are always nicely done. The value is excellent, but the service keeps us coming back. Very friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so happy to hear that we are consistent with our service during your frequent stays with us! I hope you take advantage of our Easy Rewards frequent stayer program. We'll see you on your next trip to Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    116
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
158
86
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I booked a week in advance for two nights. The rate was very good but when I got there I was told I did not have a reservation. I was a little surprised but just went back out to the car and got my confirmation. When I showed it to the staff member she was very kind and worked it out. I then went to my room and upon entering the building from a back door I was greeted with a mess on the floor where someone threw up. I called the front dest and they did send someone to clean it up right away. My room's bathroom was not very clean however who ever cleaned it the next day did a wonderful job so my second night stay was very good. I was just a little disappointed with how things went the first day/night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for bringing these things to our attention so that we may address them immediately. I am happy to hear that your stay ended on a positive note! Please come back to give us another try - we'll do everything in our power to make sure you have a pleasant stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Last minute booking, daughter had college test 1 mile from hotel. Was given special rate because of her test. That was awesome!! Staff very friendly and helpful. Pool and hot tub very nice. Morning breakfast was outstanding, so much to choose from!!! Block away from mall stores,Resturants. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Well, it sounds like you found just a few of our many outstanding amenities that come from taking advantage of the plethora of special rates and partnerships we have available. If you didn't get to this last time, come back and try out our free beer & wine that we provide every night - and warm up to a hot bowl of soup too! Thanks for your kind words and have a very happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I had the best service and awesome lodging during my stay at Americinn Lodge & Suites Madison West. It was clean, warm and inviting, comfortable, and very spaces.
You can not go wrong staying with these guys and enjoying your time away from your home.

Mike, Dallas, Tx

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Well, I am glad to hear we could be of service to you during your stay away from home. Many people do compliment us on the 'homey' feeling they get while staying with us. Thanks for choosing us as your home away from home... temporarily! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had a great stay at this hotel! By the looks of it, the hotel was very busy, but the staff made us feel very important and the room was quiet. Our room was very nicely made up and we enjoyed the stay. Rate was affordable compared to the other hotels in the area (especially since we were there on the weekend of a Badger's game). Everything was perfect. We will return in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your pleasant comments about our facility! Badger game weekends can get very hectic, so we are pleased that you found our comforting sanctuary here on the west side of Madison. Have a very merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed one night and had a great experience. Friendly staff at the front desk, quick check-in, clean room, comfortable beds and pillows, good location and value. We had to leave early (5:00 a.m.) and even though the breakfast normally does not start until 6:00 a.m., the staff was kind enough to provide a hot breakfast for us. Washer and dryer available for guests too. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Well thank you for deciding to stay with us and for your kind comments. I trust that our holiday decorations enhanced some Christmas spirit as well! Thanks again, and have a very merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in Oct. My flight was delayed so I arrived late at night (2 am). Thankfully there was someone to check me in. There was some problem with the booking my company made - a twin bed room was booked instead of the King which I regularly use. I was completely exhausted after 18 hours of flying and asked the receptionist if I could get a room with a King sized bed. I didn't mind paying extra - this was clearly my company's fault. I think the guy checking me in felt sorry for me and simply upgraded me to a King without charging extra. The first good thing to happen after a long and terrible day.

The room was excellent - large, spacious and very comfy bed. The bathroom looked old but was spotless. The room also had a nice fresh smell to it. There was absolutely no noise. The free breakfast in the morning was one the best I have ever had. Way better and way more options than the usual crap you get at "free breakfast" hotels. Free coffee, water and cookies 24/7. Best thing about this hotel though has to be the free beer, wine and snacks from 5-7pm - a nice thing to have after a long day of business. You can even order pizza and beer to your room after 7pm for really cheap prices. If you don’t like pizza there are tons of very good and reasonably priced restaurants at walking distance from the hotel. They also have free airport pickups and drop offs (there are restrictions on time) and free shuttles to Epic which came in very handy for me. A roundtrip taxi to the airport costs almost $70 and to Epic almost $30. I saved about $150 by using their Epic shuttle. Except for the airport taxi, I didn’t have any other transportation costs.

The only con for me was this one receptionist I had to deal with in the morning to arrange the shuttle. She was abrupt and rude in her responses. I am not an American so my accent is a little thick but I am certainly not difficult to understand. But this lady was having a tough time understanding me. I don't mind repeating myself except she gave me a disgusted look every time she didn't understand what I said and I could see she was getting increasingly irritated to deal with me like I was some kind of nuisance. But the other staff members were extremely polite and helpful and seemed genuinely happy to help customers. Infact one of the shuttle drivers agreed that the receptionist had a big attitude problem and gave me his cell number and asked me to call him whenever I was ready so I didn’t have to deal with her.

Overall this is a great value hotel with lots of freebies for the low price I paid. I was extremely glad to have stayed here for 5 nights and I am actually coming back in Dec for 3 more nights. I anticipate travelling to Madison often in the future and will definitely stay at the AmericInn each time unless something changes drastically.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. They seemed pretty generous about it when the rooms are not full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Assistant General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We're so glad that you found so much value in your stay with us. We will be happy to welcome you back anytime you're in Madison again. Thanks for your wonderful comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West

Address: 516 Grand Canyon Drive, Madison, WI 53719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Madison
#1 Best Value Hotel in Madison
#12 Family Hotel in Madison
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#19 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, Wisconsin the ideal location for your next stay, whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. We are proud to provide the amenities you want most and deliver them at the highest level possible starting with comfortable, quieter guestrooms. Wake up each morning to our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and enjoy appetizers, beer and wine each evening from 5:00pm to 7:00pm. Stay connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, AmericInn Hotels, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Madison West
Americinn Lodge & Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Americinn Hotel Madison
Hampton Inn Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.