We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   516 Grand Canyon Drive, Madison, WI 53719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
24 Hour Sale 22% OFF!
Ranked #7 of 63 hotels in Madison
GreenLeadersGold level
West Allis, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here one night; booked online. Room very nice, clean, comfortable. Surprise was "Manager's Reception" from 5-7 pm with complimentary beverages and snacks (nachos, salsa, meatballs, chicken nuggets, etc.). Breakfast was also gratis in the morning. Cold water and free flavored coffee are provided in the lobby 24 hrs. There is someone on duty at all hours. The only complaint I have is that the TV reception (satellite) froze up overnight and mysteriously returned at 5:30 a.m. The wifi also wasn't working overnight, so I felt like I was camping out. All in all, though, I had a real pleasant overnight stay.

Room Tip: Very close to West Town Mall and lots of restaurants within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    67
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
94
58
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We looked for a hotel within the Madison area for a wedding we attended in mid-June and this was the first time at an AmericInn. Their staff was very welcoming and helpful for any questions, restaurants were nearby for dining and the hotel continental breakfast was generous and it made for a pleasant weekend get away. Will DEFINITELY go to another AmericInn. We even signed up for their REWARDS program.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I'd highly recommend this AmericInn - friendly staff, pool was good, liked the breakfast, good for kids. After they go to bed, you can buy a bottle of Spotted Cow at the front desk for $2.50, sit in the lobby, watch the big screen, and use the wifi - what a deal!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, Usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

While the bed wasn't the best (it sank in the middle), the breakfast was the best "hotel/motel" breakfast I've seen. In addition to the usual waffles, it has had a scrambled egg/ham/cheese choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groves_bj, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Not only do we offer the scrambled eggs, but our breakfast includes waffles, omlettes, sausage, ham, build your own breakfast burrito, hot and cold cereals, low fat yogurts, etc. We take pride in our breakfast offerings and are always looking for ways to make it better. We are open for suggestions any time. Just as a reminder, our breakfast is complimentary for all guests. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This appears to be schoidphrenic hotel. Most of the time is is absolutely wonderful - other times it is not.

If you stay there during the week, you will find a clean, quiet, well maintained property, with an attentive and friendly staff. The breakfast is very very complete, although the seem to think that eggs MUST have meat mixed in with them. If you a veggie type or any type of "no meat and dairy together" type, you'll be disappointed. Otherwise, breakfast is quite good.

If you stay on a Saturday night....well, that's a whole different story. This is the second time now we have been there on a Saturday night and both times, the property was hosting a large, UNRULY group. LARGE GROUP. NOISY GROUP. A group that was completely UNMANAGED by the hotel's staff. As a result, the place was a disaster....noise, noise, noise. Food all over the lobby floor, hallway floors, sticky tile floors, etc. I can see why the hotel would want to bring in such large groups (revenue!), but their staff is apparently untrained and unable to cope with such numbers.

So beware!

Although I did experience a few unique problems during this last stay, to it's credit, the manager of the hotel actually listened to my issues and took definitive steps to 1) rectify issues, and 2) refund my money. I give him a lot of credit for going this extra mile - I think it speaks well of him and the property overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groves_bj, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that we were able to make things right while you were here, but there is still no excuse for us to not be able to provide our guests with a quiet and relaxing place to stay. We do provide rooms for many sports groups and families throughout the year, and will continue to, but will look to provide each team and the parents of these teams with a new rules policy at check-in to ensure that they are aware of the properties rules. We are also going to be discussing the busier potentially less quieter nights with our staff to ensure they are properly enformed of how to handle these guests.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here a few nights while we were moving our daughter out of her dorm. It is located just off the freeway, with a number of restaurants close by. The West Town Mall is within walking distance (a bit of a walk, but you might want to take a car if you are in a hurry or have lots of purchases). The hotel exterior is a bland, which gives you the impression of a Holiday Inn, but the interiors appear to have been remodeled/updated. There is a nice lobby area with a fireplace. A breakfast buffet and a manager's afternoon reception with free sodas, beer, etc. included. The breakfast was nice (eggs, sausage, make your own waffle, cereal, fruit, etc.).
The room was nice with 2 double beds. A standard room with nice beds, but the thing we noticed about the room was that it was quiet. We heard almost no outside noise (with from the parking lot or the hallway)...a nice thing to have when you are trying to sleep!
The indoor pool and spa were nice and open late (with adults only for the last hour or so). Small fitness center with a stationary bicycle, eliptical, treadmill is located next to the pool/spa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have family in Madison, so we do travel there about 2-3 times a year. We have stayed at this AmericInn twice since early January; it's just off the freeway, close to restaurants and coffee shops, and within walking distance of the West Town Mall. The exterior is slightly dated, but the entry is very welcoming with a cozy fireplace, leather seating, and big windows. There is a 24 hr. coffee bar, and they offer complimentary fresh baked cookies and a manager's reception with drinks and appetizers in the evenings. The beds are very comfortable!
Pros: Great beds, very clean, very quiet, good location.
Cons: They sometimes seem understaffed, especially in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groves_bj, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoy staying at our property and that you have been loyal to our property. We have discussed with out management team about having more staff available to our guests even into the evenings. All nights that we have higher occupancy levels we are now providing at least two at the front desk and an individual in maintenance/shuttle to ensure that we are able to provide the right type of service to our guests. We look forward to serving you again in the future, and hope that you will continue to share your ideas with us, so we can better ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West

Address: 516 Grand Canyon Drive, Madison, WI 53719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Best Value Hotel in Madison
#12 Family Hotel in Madison
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#19 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, Wisconsin the ideal location for your next stay, whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. We are proud to provide the amenities you want most and deliver them at the highest level possible starting with comfortable, quieter guestrooms. Wake up each morning to our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and enjoy appetizers, beer and wine each evening from 5:00pm to 7:00pm. Stay connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, AmericInn Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Americinn Lodge And Suites Madison West
Americinn Hotel Madison
Hampton Inn Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.