We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a friendly staff. Poor quality rooms. No tv phone or...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Madison East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Madison East to your Saves list
Travelodge Madison East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4202 East Towne Blvd, Madison, WI 53704 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Madison East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    65
    59
    49
See reviews for
59
46
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I am handicapped & had a coupon for what I thought would be a fair rate. Bad mistake! They gave us a TINY room with a full-size bed. The tiny refrigerator had so much ice buildup that the unit was not very cold for the drinks we brought. I went to the front desk & told the man behind counter the room AND bed were too small for me & my husband & we couldn't move around too easy. He said "that is the size room for a coupon rate." When I asked for his business card, he said he didn't have one, so I asked him to write down his first & last name. He asked me WHY? I said so I could give management my report. He then said he would upgrade our room at no cost. The room's carpet was literally filthy (both rooms had very dirty carpets). The bathroom door could not close (it did not fit!). I told my husband not to walk on rug without his shoes on. Walls were paper thin. You could hear the people and their TV, so did not get a good night's sleep. When we checked out the next morning, NO ONE came to the desk! Lots of strange people on parking lot in evening. Afraid our car was not secure! The Baymont Inn name has always been one we could trust for a clean, safe & secure room. This one looked like an old motel, like the Excel Inn, with a replaced Baymont Inn sign. The once good neighbourhood had also changed. I did not feel secure and will never stay there again NOR RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Travelodge Madison East, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing us while you were passing through Madison, WI. We apologize our room was not up to your expectations. I see you mentioned you came in on a coupon? With that particular coupon it states a room with one double bed, or two double beds at a little higher price. We do have larger rooms available with Queen or King beds if you were interested in those, but those would not be for the coupon rate, and would be at a higher rate. We have a limited number of handicap rooms as many hotels do, we apologize if we did not have one available at the time of your walk in. The area around the hotel is relatively busy, but rest assured, is a very safe area. Again, we apologize for the problems you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Staff was nice. Roomwas clean but rest was poorly kept. Strange characters hanging around doorways smoking. Very quiet though. Just did not feel comfortable there for the money we spent and cannot recomend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Travelodge Madison East, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Madison. We are happy to hear you had good customer service along with a clean and quiet room. We apologize if there were more people around the hotel than anticipated. There are times the hotel is at full occupancy along with different groups that stay here for particular events that are held in Madison. We hope you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and will think of us again for a second chance the next time you are in Madison, WI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The building is in disrepair, rooms are TINY, there are sketchy individuals running around the parking lot (one who slashed my tire), the plumbing is insanely loud, there are children running around in the hallway loudly. The front desk guy was nice, fast and did his best, but this hotel is pretty far gone that he could only do so much. This is more of a last resort hotel where some people live, not really a hotel for travelers. I left after an hour.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Travelodge Madison East, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel while you were in Madison, and took a few minutes to share with us about your experience. As our hotel is a little older, the rooms appear to be a little smaller as the bathrooms only have the toilet and tub while vanity area is outside the bathroom. As we do have a high occupancy in the summer time, we do have more people and traffic around the hotel, but rest assured this is a very safe area. We apologize the hotel was not up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Madison East

Address: 4202 East Towne Blvd, Madison, WI 53704 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Madison East)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Madison East 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge in Madison, WI is a 92-room suite hotel located at the crossroads of Wisconsin. With Interstate 39/90/94, four blocks to the east, US Highway 51 four blocks to the west and business US Highway 151 adjacent to the property we are convenient to Wisconsin. The Travelodge Madison East, WI is located only minutes from the University of Wisconsin, UW Health Transplant Hospital, Alliant Energy Center, Camp Randall Stadium, Kohl Center, Wisconsin State Capitol, and steps away from East Towne Mall. Flying into Madison, WI? We are one of the closest hotels to the Dane County Regional Airport. Whether you are in Madison, WI for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Fitness Center, Free High Speed Wireless Internet and complimentary breakfast at our Bear Bites Breakfast. All of our rooms come equiped with voicemail, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and cable television. To make your stay even more rewarding, please join Wyndham Rewards, our guest loyalty program. The Travelodge Madison, WI has several restaurants nearby: Olive Garden, Chili's Grill and Bar, Denny’s, Rocky Rococo Pizza, Outback Steakhouse, Takumi Sushi and IHOP. Pooley's Sports Bar, My Buddies Sports Bar, and Sports Pub, are a few great places to stop in and have a drink while trying to unwind for the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Madison East
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison East Hotel Madison
Baymont Inn Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Madison East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.