We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Won't Stay Here Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Madison East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Madison East to your Saves list
Travelodge Madison East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4202 East Towne Blvd, Madison, WI 53704 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Madison East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Ashwaubenon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We Won't Stay Here Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Property poorly marked. Desk staff unfriendly and unattentive. Vagrants milling in parking lot at back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Travelodge Madison East, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Madison, Wisconsin. We apolgize you did not find our hotel adequately while experiencing unattentive customer service as well as people in our parking lot. With having large signage in the rear of our parking lot off of East Washington Ave we do only have one sign in the front of the hotel, where if you were coming from one direction, it may not have been noticed immediately. With having some peak dates, we do have guests that tend to explore around the property as well as the surrounding multiple restaurants and shopping that is available around the hotel. We will share your comments on our service with our front desk to ensure we maintain good service. We hope you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and wifi while enjoying your clean room at an affordable price. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time you are in Madison, WI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    65
    59
    49
See reviews for
59
46
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with famliy for a few nights & we were all extremely disappointed. The staff was friendly but that's the only thing going for this hotel. Hallways and stairways were DIRTY!!! (lined with dirt and garbage). The rooms were outdated and smelled musty. Poor picture quality on TV's. Bedding is not comfortable. The hotel needs to upgrade their comforters being as most people come to hotels to sleep; the beds should be the best part of the room. The breakfast bar had variety but was not well maintained & looked like it wasn't cleaned for a few days.

Room Tip: Bring Lysol spray for room. & maybe your own pillows & blanket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Travelodge Madison East, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to share with us how your stay was. We apologize for the issues that you encountered with our hotel. As housekeepers clean rooms during the day, they do have their trash bags with them or next to the room they are cleaning. As our hallways are shampooed 2-3 times a month, and vacuumed daily, we can only think the housekeepers with trash bags would be the problem. Our beds are relatively new, but they are a little on the firm side. Some guests prefer different types of bedding, and we have had guests on your side as beds are a little firm. Our breakfast is served daily and rest assured, is also cleaned daily. There are times when the breakfast area is busier than other times, while our staff tries to keep the breakfast area stocked and clean as much as they can during these times. Again, we truly apologize for the inconveniences you encountered, and hoped you were able to enjoy the multiple restaurants and East Towne Mall that are within walking distance of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our room was clean and pleasant, but others staying at the inn were fussing with cars in the parking lot and then coming in and out kept us awake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Travelodge Madison East, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Madison. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our rooms while you were here. We apologize there may have been some noises coming from the outside possibly something wrong with some other guests cars while potentially trying to maybe repair what problem they may have had with their car. We strive to maintain a comfortable atmosphere for our guests. We hope you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet and interent while you were here. We hope the outside noise issue that occued with a guest car outside will not deter you from staying here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

you will have a fantastic experience at the baymont inn&suites in Madison Wisconsin.from the gm cory barr who is one of the most patient people,and nicest I've met to his asst.mgr.eric who is beyong helpful,and nice,and can tell you anything about Madison.to marcus who works afternoons who can tell you every great restaurant&club in Madison.to terrance who works wed.&thurs.afternoons&weekend overnights who is very fun,and cool to just talk with.the cleaning staff especially shavonda are top notch.so I highly recommend your next trip to Madison you book the baymont inn east side.i was there for 16 months the longest I've ever been in a hotel so I better than most saw it all.tke my word as gospel.thanks ed glass

Room Tip: any all are good.i stayed in room 235.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Travelodge Madison East, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you Ed for sharing your expreience you had while you were here for such a long term. As we strive to maintain a clean, affordable, and convenient hotel, we are happy to hear you were able to enjoy all of this while you were here. We will make sure we take your comments and share them with our staff. We hope you the best in your future endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This Baymont Inn is sub-par. Shabby and marginal. However, all staff were helpful and polite, and beds were clean. Baymont Inns can be OK - so this one was disappointing and in need of a make-over. I will be wary of staying at a Baymond in future based on this experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Travelodge Madison East, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to share with us your stay while you were in Madison, WI. We are glad to hear our staff was helfpul and polite while you enjoyed a clean room. We strive to be a clean, convenient, and affordable hotel. The hotel is a little older and does not have some of the amenities that some other trendy hotels may have, but we believe our rates reflect this compared to potentially paying over $100 at another hotel. We hope you found our hotel very easily as we are located just off of East Washington Ave between I-90/94 and Hwy 51. We hope you will think of us agian in the future the next time you are in Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Madison East

Address: 4202 East Towne Blvd, Madison, WI 53704 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Madison East)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Madison East 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge in Madison, WI is a 92-room suite hotel located at the crossroads of Wisconsin. With Interstate 39/90/94, four blocks to the east, US Highway 51 four blocks to the west and business US Highway 151 adjacent to the property we are convenient to Wisconsin. The Travelodge Madison East, WI is located only minutes from the University of Wisconsin, UW Health Transplant Hospital, Alliant Energy Center, Camp Randall Stadium, Kohl Center, Wisconsin State Capitol, and steps away from East Towne Mall. Flying into Madison, WI? We are one of the closest hotels to the Dane County Regional Airport. Whether you are in Madison, WI for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Fitness Center, Free High Speed Wireless Internet and complimentary breakfast at our Bear Bites Breakfast. All of our rooms come equiped with voicemail, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and cable television. To make your stay even more rewarding, please join Wyndham Rewards, our guest loyalty program. The Travelodge Madison, WI has several restaurants nearby: Olive Garden, Chili's Grill and Bar, Denny’s, Rocky Rococo Pizza, Outback Steakhouse, Takumi Sushi and IHOP. Pooley's Sports Bar, My Buddies Sports Bar, and Sports Pub, are a few great places to stop in and have a drink while trying to unwind for the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Madison East
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison East Hotel Madison
Baymont Inn Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Madison East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.