We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL EVENING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater to your Saves list
The Edgewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Wisconsin Place, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Fest Rock the Dock
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL EVENING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful evening. Sat our by the lake and enjoyed the beautiful view. The meal in the State House was great and we had a window seat also. The rooms were very pretty and the beds very comfortable! Staff very nice.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the lake - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Beverly M,
Thank you for the great review. The next time you visit, please check out The Boathouse or The Icehouse, offering different options for Lakefront dining. See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    45
    11
    12
    3
See reviews for
48
67
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the hotel for a wedding. Everything was great. Would recommend this hotel to others.. Walking distance to downtown with some many restaurants and bars. Great place to stay.Staff was great, Boathouse Bar great place to sit outside and enjoy a drink.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the lake. Awesome sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited the Edgewater to attend a wedding. We were very happy with the hotel, very well maintained. Excellent restaurants and a great view of the Lake from many locations, including our room. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms super quiet.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Wayne S,
Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Many guests love our views, especially from our restaurants and plaza, I'm glad to hear you had some time to enjoy. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I grew up in Wisconsin, attended the UW Madison. Always dreamed I could stay at the Edgewater. The hotel and its staff delivered. It started w/wonderful and helpful reservationist; the valet helped w/the car; the room was modern, clean, stylish; the food (breakfast, aps and dinner) were wonderful. All delivered at a reasonable price - I'm from Vail so understand the business.

Room Tip: Talk to the reservation people directly. They understand customer service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked two rooms during a visit with our daughter to a professional school at UW. Our daughter had the smaller room with a direct view of the lake. Her room was tight but nicely appointed. It was located in the area near their ballrooms and I would wnat to make sure that an event was gong on when you stayed there. Otherwise, very quiet.
Our room had a porch that allowed us a view of the lake. Even thought the hotel was completely booked, we really didn't see anyone else out on their porches (it was March in Wisconsin). Again, room was not spacious but the bed was conmfortable, the appointments excellent. Had an upscale feel. THe spa/pool is in the second hotel building a short walk nearby. Very nice sp with a locker room for the pool/fitness area.
Just be aware, this hotel is definitely on the upper end cost wise for Madison. The trade off is quiet and comfort.
The restaurant has a limited menu and is over priced. The bar food menu is really quite good, not fast but good for the price and a decent selection (flatbreads, appetizers).

Room Tip: Make sure yo get an upper level lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Ram8381,
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your terrace room during your stay in March. We appreciate your feedback on our restaurant, thank you. We recently opened The Boathouse, which offers more casual lakefront dining. And The Icehouse is coming soon, which offers a higher end concession feel, with great grab and go items. When you return, please make sure to visit both of those as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had reserved a "lake view" room at the Edgewater
When we arrived our room was not cleaned from the last guest
We were finally given a new room; unfortunately it faced another building
When I called the desk and spoke to the manager he said some lake view rooms are partially obstructed and offered us dinner; however we already had plans for a birthday dinner that night.
Two follow up e-mails to the hotels manager went unanswered.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mark F,
I am sorry to hear your experience did not measure up to your expectations, and that you did not receive a response from management. I would love the opportunity to discuss your experience, my direct line is 608.535.8216, please feel free to reach out. We really strive to ensure guests have a great experience, I hope to hear from you soon,
Mary Murray
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is an excellent, newly built hotel a short walk from the capitol building in Madison. Everything is outstanding about this hotel--the staff is very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are very nice and clean, and the location is incredibly convenient. We stay here every time we visit Madison and have had nothing but a great experience here. I highly recommend staying at the Edgewater if you are planning on staying!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Phil G,
Thank you for the rave review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our location, service and amenities. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Address: 1001 Wisconsin Place, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgewater 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater is the proud revival of an historic hotel, right on the shores of Lake Mendota, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin and steps from the state Capitol, in the heart of downtown Madison. The restored property maintains the classic facade of its predecessor, now called The Langdon Building, and a new tower, The Wisconsin Building, all with completely new interiors, several restaurants, a magnificent spa, ballrooms, and a large plaza that connects both hotel guests and the public with the beautiful waters of the lake. The hotel has 202 guest rooms, the majority offering gorgeous lake views, including presidential suites and studios with kitchenettes. The Edgewater Spa provides fitness and personal training overlooking Lake Mendota, as well as full service, customized hair, makeup, nail services and relaxing massage. Restaurant options range from The Statehouse for distinctive dining, to The Boathouse, a bar and restaurant in the great Wisconsin tradition of casual waterfront spots, The Icehouse for very casual dining, and The Cafe, for coffee and lighter fare throughout the day. Meeting and banquet facilities range from The Grand Ballroom and Mendota Ballroom, both in the Wisconsin Building, to The Red Crown Club on top of the Langdon Building, offering versatility and spectacular views of Lake Mendota. The Plaza lies at the heart of The Edgewater between The Langdon Building and the Wisconsin Building, almost an acre, open to the public with regularly scheduled outdoor events, concerts and celebrations, converting in winter to a skating rink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.