We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but unique in Madison” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater to your Saves list
The Edgewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Wisconsin Place, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Rosemount, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pricey but unique in Madison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked two rooms during a visit with our daughter to a professional school at UW. Our daughter had the smaller room with a direct view of the lake. Her room was tight but nicely appointed. It was located in the area near their ballrooms and I would wnat to make sure that an event was gong on when you stayed there. Otherwise, very quiet.
Our room had a porch that allowed us a view of the lake. Even thought the hotel was completely booked, we really didn't see anyone else out on their porches (it was March in Wisconsin). Again, room was not spacious but the bed was conmfortable, the appointments excellent. Had an upscale feel. THe spa/pool is in the second hotel building a short walk nearby. Very nice sp with a locker room for the pool/fitness area.
Just be aware, this hotel is definitely on the upper end cost wise for Madison. The trade off is quiet and comfort.
The restaurant has a limited menu and is over priced. The bar food menu is really quite good, not fast but good for the price and a decent selection (flatbreads, appetizers).

Room Tip: Make sure yo get an upper level lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    44
    11
    12
    3
See reviews for
47
66
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had reserved a "lake view" room at the Edgewater
When we arrived our room was not cleaned from the last guest
We were finally given a new room; unfortunately it faced another building
When I called the desk and spoke to the manager he said some lake view rooms are partially obstructed and offered us dinner; however we already had plans for a birthday dinner that night.
Two follow up e-mails to the hotels manager went unanswered.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is an excellent, newly built hotel a short walk from the capitol building in Madison. Everything is outstanding about this hotel--the staff is very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are very nice and clean, and the location is incredibly convenient. We stay here every time we visit Madison and have had nothing but a great experience here. I highly recommend staying at the Edgewater if you are planning on staying!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The only negative part of our stay was not having more time to explore all this hotel has to offer. It is exquisite both inside and out. We were in room 1150 which is a corner room that offers views of both the city and lake. The view was nice, but the view of the Capitol was obscured by trees and we only had a partial view of the lake. The interior decor is very luxurious and the bathroom floors are heated! Service was exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice place, but I was not impressed that you have to pay to park your vehicle for 17.00 and there is also a resort fee of 14.00 for internet and chauffer service which neither I used. For the price of the room it should be included.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at The Edgewater for a wedding. Wonderful accommodations. Wedding was held at the hotel. Walking distance to the Capitol and many restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay again...Rooms overlooking the lake. Bar lakeside with outdoor seating...

Room Tip: Get a room Overlooking the lake. Beautiful sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My friends and I drove down from Green Bay to have a bachelorette weekend in Madison. We didn't want to leave because our stay at The Edgewater was that great! The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our beds were very comfortable and the view of the water from our room (even the bathroom) was breath taking. I would go back to stay at the Edgewater in a heartbeat. It is a beautiful hotel and a necessary stay if visiting Madison.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Address: 1001 Wisconsin Place, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgewater 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater is the proud revival of an historic hotel, right on the shores of Lake Mendota, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin and steps from the state Capitol, in the heart of downtown Madison. The restored property maintains the classic facade of its predecessor, now called The Langdon Building, and a new tower, The Wisconsin Building, all with completely new interiors, several restaurants, a magnificent spa, ballrooms, and a large plaza that connects both hotel guests and the public with the beautiful waters of the lake. The hotel has 202 guest rooms, the majority offering gorgeous lake views, including presidential suites and studios with kitchenettes. The Edgewater Spa provides fitness and personal training overlooking Lake Mendota, as well as full service, customized hair, makeup, nail services and relaxing massage. Restaurant options range from The Statehouse for distinctive dining, to The Boathouse, a bar and restaurant in the great Wisconsin tradition of casual waterfront spots, The Icehouse for very casual dining, and The Cafe, for coffee and lighter fare throughout the day. Meeting and banquet facilities range from The Grand Ballroom and Mendota Ballroom, both in the Wisconsin Building, to The Red Crown Club on top of the Langdon Building, offering versatility and spectacular views of Lake Mendota. The Plaza lies at the heart of The Edgewater between The Langdon Building and the Wisconsin Building, almost an acre, open to the public with regularly scheduled outdoor events, concerts and celebrations, converting in winter to a skating rink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.