We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and switch on room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgewater to your Saves list
The Edgewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Wisconsin Place, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bait and switch on room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked a lakeview room at the edgewater hotel in Madison, wi. I paid full price for this.

Room was not a lakeview room. When I called front desk and pointed out the discrepancy, there was no argument from their side.

Initially, she offered me a $14 waiver of some sort of fabricated fee they had. I told her that this was unacceptable, and she immediately offered to waive my $18 a day parking structure fee as well.

In the end, I was still disappointed. I appreciate that they attempted to make amends- but, I didn't make the 3.5 hr trip with hopes of saving 8% off the total for a view of a feats backyard instead.

As a result, I would NOT recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    43
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
43
64
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our recent stay at the Edgewater Hotel during UW Madison graduation weekend was absolutely perfect. Our rooms were beautiul, not all had balconies but we did reserve one room with a spacious balcony and we especially enjoyed sitting out in the evening before and after dinner. Our dinner at the Statehouse was lovely and the food has significantly improved since February. I can not say enough wonderful things about the entire hotel staff, from reservations to check out our expectations were met if not exceeded.
We did a "test drive" of the hotel in February and were extremely satisfied but in the past few months the hotel has not only improved it is close to perfection!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had the wonderful privilege of staying here during a recent business trip to Madison. I had a couple of days in between meetings and had two colleagues recommend this hotel. With my AAA discount the rates were a little more reasonable. I had a beautiful, spacious room with a view of the lake. I enjoyed some in-room dining, used GrubHub one day and dined in the café another time. The pizza was magnificent! The service was outstanding. The décor is bordering on stunning. I loved everything about this place. For Madison, I did think $18/day to park my car was a little ridiculous, but the parking was very convenient to my room. I literally parked and walked through a door to my room. The rooms are well appointed with beautiful furnishings. I turned my chair to sit and take in the views and especially enjoyed watching the UW Rowing Team pass by each morning. Also, the crème brulee oatmeal and the coffee are pure perfection. Also, at checkout, Anastasia was very accommodating when I mentioned my AAA membership that I had forgotten at check-in. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get a view of the lake...it was worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had the pleasure of staying in this classic, beautifully appointed hotel. What a view! Every room has a balcony with gorgeous views over the lake. The rooms are so luxurious. The service on site is first rate. My only issue is the registration policy. They charge you one full night's lodging plus taxes upon making your reservation. A little on the pricey side, but worth it, especially if you know how to tastefully negotiate.

Room Tip: The spa, business and fitness centers on the original side. Stayed on the newer side. Everything wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Good Day TravelDiva411,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Edgewater. We confirm all reservations with a one night room and tax taken at the time of booking. This ensures your reservation and room type are guaranteed and we can prepare for your arrival. On your next travels to Madison, we would love to welcome you back to The Edgewater.

Guest Relations & VIP Manager
Jason Slagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As a UW Madison alum from the late 90s, I remembered this hotel as a tired old lady and never thought to stay there again until recently when I happened on a picture of it. I have stayed at every hotel in downtown Madison, and this is by far my new favorite. The new tower is absolutely gorgeous and the redo of the old tower was great. The location is a couple of blocks from the capital/state street, so it is perfectly situated without being right in the action. The lake/capital views are better than any other property. In addition, the staff is incredibly friendly. I will be staying here for all of my future visits to Madison.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Good Day NLCHI,

I'm thrilled to hear how enjoyable your time was at The Edgewater. The Management and staff are here to ensure your upmost satisfaction, with that said I'm glad we did. When your travels bring you to Madison, consider The Edgewater as your lodging accommodations.

Guest Relations & VIP Manager
Jason Slagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Your welcome at The Edgewater begins at the hotel entrance, with a most attentive valet crew. We were greeted enthusiastically and escorted into the lobby to register. Registration was fast and again, very attentive. We had requested a premium lakeside view room, and it was very lovely. Well appointed and scrupulously clean. All was well until day 2 when we found that the coffee service had not been replenished....a big disappointment to two morning coffee drinkers. And our schedule didn't allow for a coffee purchase before our next reservation...which meant we were caffeine deprived the whole day. Other than this oversight, we can recommend this hotel to anyone willing to pay a premium for an excellent hotel experience.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must, especially if the weather permits a sunrise viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Good Day Nancy C,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I do apologize about the coffee not being replenished; thank you for bringing that to my attention. On your next travels to Madison, consider The Edgewater as your lodging accommodations.

Guest Relations & VIP Manager
Jason Slagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Luxurious hotel facing the water with an enchanting terrace, top notch restaurant, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. From top to bottom, this place is immaculate. Everything you would hope for in a hotel, top class!!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Good Day jwessma,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm glad you were able to Experience all The Edgewater has to offer. Relaxing on our terrace with food and drinks and watching the summer sun set over lake Mendota is a memorable experience that urns all to return. When your travels bring you back to Madison, we would love to welcome you back to the property.

Guest Relations & VIP Manager
Jason Slagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Address: 1001 Wisconsin Place, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgewater 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater is the proud revival of an historic hotel, right on the shores of Lake Mendota, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin and steps from the state Capitol, in the heart of downtown Madison. The restored property maintains the classic facade of its predecessor, now called The Langdon Building, and a new tower, The Wisconsin Building, all with completely new interiors, several restaurants, a magnificent spa, ballrooms, and a large plaza that connects both hotel guests and the public with the beautiful waters of the lake. The hotel has 202 guest rooms, the majority offering gorgeous lake views, including presidential suites and studios with kitchenettes. The Edgewater Spa provides fitness and personal training overlooking Lake Mendota, as well as full service, customized hair, makeup, nail services and relaxing massage. Restaurant options range from The Statehouse for distinctive dining, to The Boathouse, a bar and restaurant in the great Wisconsin tradition of casual waterfront spots, The Icehouse for very casual dining, and The Cafe, for coffee and lighter fare throughout the day. Meeting and banquet facilities range from The Grand Ballroom and Mendota Ballroom, both in the Wisconsin Building, to The Red Crown Club on top of the Langdon Building, offering versatility and spectacular views of Lake Mendota. The Plaza lies at the heart of The Edgewater between The Langdon Building and the Wisconsin Building, almost an acre, open to the public with regularly scheduled outdoor events, concerts and celebrations, converting in winter to a skating rink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.