We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare at the Edgewater!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgewater

Save Saved
You added The Edgewater to your Saves list
The Edgewater
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Edgewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Wisconsin Place, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast by the Lake
Ranked #57 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Clinton, Connecticut
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nightmare at the Edgewater!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed there 9/11-9/14 with my wife and 7 year old son. We were shocked the moment that we pulled in. It was a construction zone. Workmen all over as we got out of the car. As we walked the into lobby the stair way was boarded up and smell of fresh paint and glue for the carpet. This place had nothing, No bar, No restaurants not a vending machine to get a bottle of water or ice. The Spa and Pool we not evan finished. I was impressed when I got a phone call a few days before from The Edgewater to confirm that we were arriving on Thursday and not a word from them stating the condition of the hotel.We thought we there for relaxing weekend at a 5 STAR resort and it was a nightmare on the lake

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri W, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi - I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of the ongoing construction. During this soft opening period, we are staging the addition of many new amenities. And while we are excited about these additions, it does require the continuation of construction around the property.

Please feel free to reach me direct at 608.535.8223.

Sincerely,
Terri Whealen, Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Edgewater was considered to Madison's landmark. However, the new hotel is a guest's worst nightmare. The hotel is a construction disaster. Nothing in the room works. Toxic smell of wet paint permeates through your skin and clothe. The professionalism of the front desk is a disgrace. Rude and indifferent attitude was consistent throughout their staff. I will never go back to this hotel. The Madison Concourse is 100% better in their customer service and amenities that is 1/2 the price of the Edgewater with complimentary cocktails and breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Businesstravelor808,
We are so sorry to hear about the various deficiencies you experienced during your stay. During this soft opening period, we are staging the addition of many new amenities, various food and beverage options, recreation activities and a full service spa. And while we are excited about these additions, it does require the continuation of construction around the property.

I would love the opportunity to discuss your experience further, please feel free to reach me direct at 608.535.8216.

Sincerely,
Mary Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so excited to try the new Edgewater. Unfortunately the renovations were nowhere near complete. None of the restaurants are finished. The lobby was unfinished and partially boarded up. You can't self park. They waived the resort fee and the valet fee and provided a free breakfast. We never eat hotel breakfasts so I can't comment on that. I just wish there had been something on their website to indicate that most of their amenities don't exist yet. It was way overpriced for what it was. We may try it again in a year or two when they're more established. Our room had a nice view and the location is good.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Amy D,
We are so sorry to hear about the various deficiencies you experienced during your stay. During this soft opening period, we are staging the addition of many new amenities. And while we are excited about these additions, it does require the continuation of construction around the property.

I would love the opportunity to discuss your experience further, please feel free to reach me direct at 608.535.8216.

Sincerely,
Mary Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel is just excellent, location was awesome, just 5 minutes away from the busy state street and the magnificent state capital. Room was clean, excellent view for Lake Mendota, staff were friendly and helpful. Sure will stay in the hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I received a gift certificate from our daughter for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in a Suite on a corner with views out 2 sides. The view of Lake Mendota at night is spectacular. Slowly sipping room service coffee in the early AM looking out at the lake is Magical! In my considerable experience, few if any hotels match the Edgewater for service and gentility. I'm a sucker for superior hospitality and The Edgewater exemplifies that! Have had several meals in the dining room--Admiralty Room. In Madison, it is incomparable for over all elegance, service, food quality and location (on the lake with floor to ceiling windows!). When the hotel is finally renovated and reopened---GO! STAY! DINE! and sit by the fire in the lounge and quietly enjoy the view of wonderful Lake Mendota!! Not to be maudlin, but drink a toast to my dear departed wonderful wife Anna!

Room Tip: Try to get a Lake View room. It's perhaps "the" reason to stay there! Also, dining at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I came here for the best birthday celebration a friend of mine could experience. I can preach forever of fancy hotels which are epic fails beneath the surface. I had no complaints here. Excellent staff. Excellent views of Lake Mendota (and the Wisconsin state capitol from the front entrance). The bartender at the party was very keen and knowledgeable in the preparation of every drink for such a distinct caliber of guests. The catering was beyond lovely. I would love to celebrate my birthday here sometime. Or at least just get away...on the edge...at this lovely place.

Room Tip: Because of the place being constructed on a bluff on Lake Mendota, some rooms (and banquet rooms) ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Address: 1001 Wisconsin Place, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgewater 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater will be reopening in August 2014, following a $100 million renovation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the shores of Lake Mendota and becoming your Madison destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.