We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating, but not an awful option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4402 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Schererville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Needs updating, but not an awful option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We've stayed at this hotel twice, once about two years ago and once this year.
Back in '08 you could tell the place hadn't been recently update, and now it's starting to look at bit worn.
The staff is fine. They aren't great with getting cabs, we were left to fend for ourselves. (FYI, Badger cab does some sort of cab share thing. So after leaving this hotel we had to stop at the grocery store down the block to pick up another passenger. I'm done with that company.)
Our room was clean. I don't know that the place is worth the actual hotel rate, but we booked through Hotwire so it wasn't awful. (Friends our ours stayed at the HoJo down the street and paid almost as much as we did.) Beds were comfy like one would except at a Crowne Plaza. I did notice that the sleep kits are no more though. (They still have the CD player alarm clocks, but no CD.)
Our room's only windows overlooked the pool. Surprisingly the noise wasn't bad.
I would stay at this hotel again if I had to. The location just isn't great.
Just a tip, parking can be a problem. There was a wedding going on one night. That combined with move in weekend at at the University made for a full parking lot. It of course didn't help that quite a few U-Haul trailers were in parking spaces. There were also moving trucks taking up four spaces. Not cool. Probably something the hotel needs to deal with.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza, Madison. It is very important to us to hear all comments, both positive as well as negative. This gives us the opportunity to improve the overall hotel, as we strive to give our guests a positive experience while staying with us. Our goal is to always exceed our guests expectations.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    84
    74
    47
    38
See reviews for
72
49
26
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding, so by the time we got to the hotel it was about 45 minutes after check-in and our room was still not ready. Instead of insisting that they take our stuff up to the room when it was ready, they told us they would hold it for us. So we had to leave the cocktail hour to bring our stuff up to our room an hour and a half after check-in. When we got up to the room, we pulled out the couch beds and set the room up to make sure we were not missing anything. When we opened one of our pull out couch beds, there was SEVERAL spots of dried up blood on all THREE of the blankets, helping us to come to the conclusion that none of the sheets were washed... because it was on all three. IT WAS GROSS. After telling the front desk, there very mildy apologized and went on with their work. We then woke up the next morning and was told by the front desk that we could not use our AAA discount because we did not say something when we checked it. Needless to say, our stay was nothing but terrible.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
I received your comments posted on Trip Advisor, and was disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison. It is our goal to exceed every guests expectations. The items mentioned will certainly be addressed with the appropriate personnel. I aplogize in the delay responding to your comments, however I recently became the new General Manager. I would welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

The Crowne Plaza is not a jewel. It is a somewhat tired, middle ranked hotel on the main drag with limited amenities and average prices.

I attended a small conference there. The conference facilities were adequate. The "banquet" food was edible but nothing great.

We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival. The "suite" has a bed area and a small, dark sitting room. The bathroom was clean but the toilet seat was barely attached to the toilet. The wallpaper was peeling in sections, there were signs of dampness, the floor was uneven and the lighting poor. You could not open the window for fresh air.

Breakfast buffet was adequate for $12.95. A la carte breakfast meals took forever. There only seemed to be one waitress working and the kitchen was swamped. There is a small coffee shop which closes at 9 am (so there is no place to get a coffee or a snack after 9 am until 5 pm). For the price of minimum wage the hotel could make a fair bit in coffees and muffins for people who don't want to leave the hotel and find a restaurant.

The bar is the only place to get food at night and stops serving at 10 pm (on a Friday!) which seems awfully early considering the neighboring restaurants are all closed at that time of night too (except for the Mcdonald's next door).

We didn't use the pool although it looked OK. (no one else used it either) and there are a couple of exercise machines adjacent to it.

This is the sort of hotel you'd stay in if there was no other choice or you rarely stay in hotels and are impressed by a pool and free parking. After driving around, I didn't see anything better in Madison that I could recommend. This hotel is adequate if you have fairly low standards or are passing through and just need a bed for the night. Otherwise, it's pretty basic.

There is a large mall across the street and several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I stayed one night at the crown plaza earlier this month. The lobby is spacious, and there
is a coffee shop there. The breakfast at the executive floor is very limited, but if to like the items there (one hot items and standard cold ones) you will not leave hungry. My room ( a corner suite) was good and spacious, but short of being fancy. The attitude at the front desk was commendable. Altogether, I have been in madison many times and stayed at many different hotels, and avoided the crowm plaza because of the mixed tripadvisort reports. My own experience, however, is a very good: I'll put on par with the hilton downtown and the holiday inn american center and noticably above the doubletree downtown and edgewater downtown.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Our room on the second floor had a major vibration sound rumbling through it from the air conditioning blowers or compressors one floor below us. We spoke to the front desk several times about it and were informed that the hotel was fully booked and no other rooms were available. By 10:30PM, we weren't able to get to sleep and we realized that if we were going to get any sleep, we were going to need to go to another hotel, which we did.

I think the front desk at the Crowne Plaza had their hands tied. They acknowledged that the A/C was very loud but couldn't put us into another room.

We were booked into this Crown Plaza by Priceline.com, so hopefully we can get a refund through them!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I was given a room with 2 twin beds. Is this crazy or what? Needless to say any kind of sleep or romance was impossible. They claimed there was no other room available. Booked with Hotwire.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We were here just for one night. At check-in the desk clerk seemed to have a hard time finding a room for us. Apparently not many rooms were available. We were placed on the "club" floor and found our room clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the higher class the hotel, the fewer free amenities. There is no complementary breakfast, although we discovered a small breakfast buffet in the club floor lounge (after we got back from eating at Denny's). My wife was going to use her laptop but said there was a fee for internet service. An earlier comment from management said internet service is free in the rooms so maybe my wife was mistaken.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 4402 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in Madison Wisconsin, and is the place to meet for meetings and weddings alike. Our premier Madison hotel is located on the east side, only 3 miles to Dane County Regional Airport, with free 24 hour airport shuttle (departing hotel on every hour), and near to downtown Madison, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and Coliseum, The Kohl Center, The new Overture Center for the Arts, University of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin State Capitol. The hotel has recently upgraded beds to a new level of comfort with 7-pillows, a plush duvet, luxurious sheets and a pillow-top mattress. A great night sleep-guaranteed! The Crowne Plaza Madison, Wisconsin is a newly renovated 6 story hotel conveniently located off I-90/94/39, near East Towne Mall, Madison's largest mall, as well as theatres and restaurants. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison - East Towne, a family-friendly hotel where kids stay free in parents' room and ages 12 and under eat free. Don't leave your pet home alone - the Crowne Plaza Madison is a pet-friendly hotel, offering added amenities at check-in for your furry friend! Crowne Plaza, the best value for Madison Wisconsin Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Madison
Madison Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.