We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8102 Excelsior Drive, Madison, WI 53717   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 63 hotels in Madison
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Adequate experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room was large but furnishings, carpeting, and cloth covered furniture were all very worn. I had to call for service to reset the TV. In-room safe did not work and a fee for the safe was on my bill. I had to request to have it removed, which they did without question. Linens were clean. Room was quiet. Breakfast offered choices of hot (waffles), choices of many breads, muffins, bagels, danishes, doughnuts, (some of which had been frozen more than once). I appreciated the hard boiled eggs, fresh whole fruit, cups of assorted yogurts, coffee and juices.

Room Tip: Note: no elevator. Stairs to 2nd floor are one long set and could be too steep for many to carry s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymontmw, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at Baymont Inn & Suites. I am glad to know that you found your room to be clean and quite. I am sorry that your TV didn’t work at first, If I remember correctly, one of the cords was unplugged and like you said, we were able to fix it…sorry for the inconvenience. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and we will take actions accordingly. I hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Kind Regards,

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    118
    73
    42
    21
See reviews for
107
57
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

lots of confusion over the rate. I found a rate on the Baymont website but when I got to the property I was told I needed to book the room online in order to get that rate. Later, someone else at the check in desk told me that I didn't need to do that - I should have been able to get that rate at the desk. In the room, the bathroom had noise - not the fan - note the toilet - but a pounding noise. This happened both day and night. It was very disturbing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymontmw, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of our Baymont Inn & Suites property. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with noise from the toilet...it has been taken care of. We would have gladly taken care of it during your stay. I am sorry for the confusion over your rate. Please give me a call at 608-831-7711 so we can discuss this. I appreciate your feed back and thank you for taking the time to share your comments so we may use them to fine tune our operations. We hope to see you next time you are in Madison.

Kind Regards,

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't believe this hotel has decent ratings on google and other websites! This was probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We checked in and the front desk employee was friendly enough but as soon as we walked into our room there was an overwhelming smell of mildew and mold, we looked in the bathroom and the floor was covered in water. We called the manager and he came to the room and agreed. It appeared the toilet had not been flushed in weeks or even cleaned so they switched us to a different room. This room was slightly better but not by much. The bed skirt was dirty with stains, so was the carpet and the couch. Several of our lights were missing light bulbs, the top comforter was discolored and fraying,side tables and desk were sticky and had grime on them. I'm sorry to say but the whole place just grossed me out. The hotel does not have an elevator so you have to take the stairs, the carpet on the stairs had stains all over it too. We checked out the pool/arcade area and half of the machines had "out of order" signs on them, the sauna was "nailed" shut and was also out of order.I wasn't expecting much of anything at the continental breakfast but that was not up to par either, most of the food was stale or frozen, tables were dirty, silverware was dirty etc. I would never recommend this place to anyone, yes the rates are slightly cheaper (but should be much cheaper considering how dirty it was) than a few hotels on the same street but in my opinion it's totally worth paying a little more to have a clean room.

Room Tip: If you have to stay in this hotel request a room on the second floor (if you don't mind taking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymontmw, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Meheals,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review on Tripadvisor. I am so sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room and overall condition of the hotel. I was able to identify the two rooms you stayed in. Our housekeeping and maintenance team were informed and are working on those rooms and we will discuss the conditions of any other rooms that might need work to ensure all guest rooms are up to Baymont Inn & Suites standards. I apologize for not having an elevator as we are only a 2-story building. If you would have informed us, we would have made every attempt to find a room for you on the ground floor. We do our best to take care of our guests and make sure that they are not inconvenienced by our lack of an elevator - even to help you with your luggage. The sauna is not out of order! Per WI law we would have had to convert it to handicap accessible and since it is such small space, it would have been next to impossible to do, so we sadly had to get rid of it. We no longer advertise a sauna for our hotel. However, we still have a nice heated pool and jacuzzi. As far as game room machines, we had people stick pennies in the machines, instead of quarters. We have been calling the company that comes to fix them almost every other day. I apologize that you were there during the time when some of them were down. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to contact me directly at 608-831-7711. Again, I am sorry that you didn’t have a nice stay and I hope you will give us another chance at Baymont Inn & Suites. Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pretty nice place especially for the price. Pool and spa were the perfect temperature and the perfect size. They could use some lounge chairs. Good happy hour, but nothing on Sunday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymontmw, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our heated pool and spa. I am sorry if you didn't get a lounge chair...we do have them. Feel free to ask Front Desk on your next visit. Happy to know that you were able to partake in our WISCO Happy Hour. Thank you again and we hope to see you in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

clean room, friendly staff, minutes from good restaurant's and downtown area, beds could be softer though

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymontmw, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Chad,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences of the Baymont Inn & Suites with the TripAdvisor community, I am very happy to hear about your positive experience.
I am excited to hear that our staff was very friendly during your stay; we always want to be a positive part of all of our guest’s experiences. Thank you again for taking the time to write about the Baymont Inn & Suites, we look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back when your travels bring you to Madison.

Kind Regards,

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is in good location near offices. Room is on the smaller side, so is the bathroom. Breakfast is just OK and standards. Friendly guest service. May or may not come back, depending if there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymontmw, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Baymont Inn & Suites experience here on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the West Side of Madison community! We are so fortunate to have so many wonderful restaurants and shops in walking distance. Sorry to hear that our breakfast was just ok. I appreciate your comment about our friendly service. We also offer a happy hour and I hope next time you will be able to partake in our complimentary happy hour. WISCO Members Receive: Free Tap Beer & Free House Wine Monday-Thursday (5PM-7PM) and Friday-Saturday (6PM-8PM). Free pizza Monday-Thursday (5PM-7PM). All guests can sign up for WISCO membership for FREE. Hope you can give us another chance. Thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards,

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed from June 30- July 4 2014. It was a wonderful room with great service. From the person at the desk, the maid who kept our room so clean to the ladies who made breakfast. The price was right as well. All in all we had a great experience here and will stay there again if we ever come back this way.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymontmw, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Alice,

Thank you for taking the time and writing such a wonderful review about our property on TripAdvisor! I am so pleased to hear that our hotel suited your needs while in Madison/Middleton. I will sure to share your comments about our well trained staff with them. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West

Address: 8102 Excelsior Drive, Madison, WI 53717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baymont Inn is the best hotel value, whether traveling for business or pleasure. Located one hour from Milwaukee, WI and two hours from Chicago, this Madison WI hotel is just minutes from downtown, WI State Capitol, University of Wisconsin Madison, UW Madison campus – Camp Randall Stadium, the Kohl Center, Monona Terrace Convention Center, the Alliant Energy Center, and many more destinations. The Baymont Inn and Suites Madison WI offers lodging with free wireless high speed internet access along with free airport shuttle transportation to/from the Madison, WI Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Madison West
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Baymont Inn Madison West
Madison Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.