We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made us feel like we was a burden!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8102 Excelsior Drive, Madison, WI 53717   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    135
    98
    56
    27
See reviews for
131
69
32
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Hard to write a positive review on this property, especially when the hotel maintenance program overlooks such details as cold water in the sink, non-working ice machines, and doors to the pool area that take two people to open. Average at best.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymontmw, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate you taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us at the Baymont Inn & Suites. Your comments regarding not having cold water in the sink and out of order ice machine has been fixed; thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. I sincerely apologize that you didn’t have the best experience. I hope that you will give us another chance so we can wow you on your next stay at Baymont Inn & Suites. Please contact me if I may be of any assistance with your travel plans. I can be reached at 608-831-7711 or via email at annakim@wiscohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This Baymont is everything that's wrong with newer hotels - everything is new, but the materials are cheap, cheap, cheap. We were given a room that was cold and we had to call staff (brusque) to make the heat work (an inexplicable combo of wall control and giant hotel fan unit). We then found the room had no cold water at the sink (and this place's hot is straight from the cauldron). So. New room. By the pool. Which is loud as all get out. It 10pm as I write this and shockingly loud. Thin walls and ceilings, thin doors, and a thin sliding glass door that requires serious elbow grease to move it. You can't consistently run the fan for white noise because of the previously mentioned dumb setup. First floor ice machine (the one not by the desk) is broken. Towel dispenser in men's room by the front desk is broken. Beds are fulls, not queens. Coffee maker works, but cheap construction guarantees you'll spill all over the counter. I've stayed in some dives in my life, and this isn't a dive. But it may be worse nonetheless. There are tons of options in this area, I'd urge folks to look into them.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymontmw, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Sam,
Thank you for your review regarding your experience at Baymont Inn & Suites. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. Water issue that you have experienced over the weekend has been fixed by our maintenance department. Sorry about the heat/air conditioner…we are in the process of changing our heating system and should be done with all the rooms by February 28, 2013. The ice machine has been fixed and we do not advertise queen beds as we only have rooms with a king or two double beds (two full beds) in our hotel. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. I know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and I hope that you will give Baymont Inn & Suites another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vesper, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice hotel, friendly staff. Good location, great amenities for the price.I usually stay here when picking someone up from the airport. Its a little far, but if you drive through the city it takes you right past the campus, and the capitol. Its easy to stop at State Street to grab dinner. The price also makes it worth driving a little further. You get a nicer hotel for the same amount of money you would pay for something closer.

Room Tip: I like the rooms with a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymontmw, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Miranda,
I am so pleased that you liked our accommodations and had the opportunity to enjoy the neighborhood. We greatly appreciate your comments about our friendly staff and I will be sure to share it with our team. Not sure if you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to and from the air port. Baymont Inn & Suites is close to State Capitol (under 8 miles) and surrounded by 30+ restaurants with in 2 miles of the hotel and closer than any other hotel to University Ridge Golf Course. Shoppers appreciate the nearness of the Greenway Station (1 mile away), West Towne Mall (2 miles), and Hilldate Shopping Center (around 4 miles). We look forward to welcoming you back Miranda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West

Address: 8102 Excelsior Drive, Madison, WI 53717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baymont Inn is the best hotel value, whether traveling for business or pleasure. Located one hour from Milwaukee, WI and two hours from Chicago, this Madison WI hotel is just minutes from downtown, WI State Capitol, University of Wisconsin Madison, UW Madison campus – Camp Randall Stadium, the Kohl Center, Monona Terrace Convention Center, the Alliant Energy Center, and many more destinations. The Baymont Inn and Suites Madison WI offers lodging with free wireless high speed internet access along with free airport shuttle transportation to/from the Madison, WI Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Madison West
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Baymont Inn Madison West
Madison Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.