We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2321 East. Main, Cortez, CO 81321 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Corona, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Large rooms, large flat screen TV's (could use HD picture though), big refrigerators, very clean and very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is just O.K. The staff is very friendly. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    174
    119
    59
    31
See reviews for
194
151
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Central Valley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a good experience overall. We had a room at the back with an unobstructed view of Mesa Verde which was awesome and the rooms are large. Considering that the motel next door was more than twice the price I felt the room was a good value. Very clean. I would avoid the rooms that front on the atrium pool unless you like to smell chlorine. The breakfast could have been better.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel and staff tried to meet all our needs. We had a dog and stated that on our reservations. At check in however, only a third floor room was available. While there, our dog learned to navigate the stairs and the elevator so all in all it ended well. The staff did what they could and our visit was enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our recent stay at the Baymont Inn in Cortez was disappointing. We have stayed there before and have been very pleased, but this time was different. Our room was just so-so. It didn't have an alarm clock and we had to ask three times before we got one. The room just didn't feel clean. The elevator broke during our stay. You could see daylight through the door of our room which didn't make us feel too safe. The Holiday Inn Express is a better choice...a little more expensive, but better quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is a dump with one redeeming quality- the amazing view from some of the rooms. The view is the only reason I am giving this hotel a "Poor" rating instead of a terrible rating. Aside from that this place is a hole...it needs major renovations and basic repairs. The photographs provided by management do not represent the property. It is in total disrepair and completely overpriced considering the quality and state of the rooms.

The rooms are large, however the furniture is extremely dated and beaten up. If you are doing any research on this hotel to decide where to stay, please take heed of the reviews that discuss the horrible state of repair this hotel is in. I believe that the broken down fixtures and furnishings are the rule rather than the exception. The view from the backside of the hotel is awesome, however it is not enough to save the property.

When we first arrived, we walked in to our room to find that there was no soap, shampoo, or bath soap. I usually bring my own toiletries but I don't generally carry bars of soap wherever I go. I called the front desk, the woman told me, "Oh the maids were low on soap, so not all rooms got some. I have a couple bars up here, you can walk up and get them if you want to." A) Yes I fully expect hand soap and B) shouldn't your staff bring them to me? And what kind of hotel runs out of hand soap?

Here's what is wrong:

- Massive amounts of black mold in the bathroom
- A/C Unit was barely attached to the wall
- Television was an old box style tv, which only had one working speaker
- Furnishing were about 30 years old and water damaged
- Shower head had a lot lime scale
- Bed was very old and sagged in the middle
- No hand soap or bath soap was provided
- The safety latch had been replaced poorly after the door had been kicked in
- The pool was murky and gross
- The Wi-Fi either never worked or if it did work, the bandwidth was horrible
- Breakfast was a joke...they offered nothing but toast and cereal...and they do not replenish the food as it gets low.

It appeared that the door to the room we stayed in had been kicked in, you can see clear evidence of it. The safety latch had been replaced, but poorly. There were empty crushed up beer cans when we checked in that were never picked up for entire stay. I really feel like they shoved us in the old, beat up, piece of crap room because we have a dog. This does not mean that the rest of the hotel was okay. When the Wi-Fi in our room quit working, I went to the lobby to use the computers provided by the hotel. One computer was completely down, the other was slow, half the monitor was blacked out, and the printer didn't work.

There is so much more I could say, but I think you all get the idea. This place is trashy and I strongly recommend anyone try to find a better place to stay. The price is way too high for the quality and cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez

Address: 2321 East. Main, Cortez, CO 81321 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Cortez
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez Hotel Cortez
Comfort Inn Cortez
Cortez Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.