We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Motel to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   505 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Paraburdoo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in August.

The room was perfectly adequate and the hotels facilities were good. The breakfast room was small but had a good selection, and was constantly restocked by a staff member.

There is a laundry on site, and plenty of parking.

The location is great being on the main street, and is within walking distance of a supermarket and a number of restaurants.

There is also a computer with free internet access that we used to plan future accomodation on our road trip.

We had a problem with the door lock in our room and we were promptly given another room. Excellent customer service.

Cortez is a good base for visiting Mesa Verde National Park and for the San Juan skyway drive to Durango, Silverton, Ouray and Telluride.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    69
    73
    30
    13
See reviews for
64
83
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

This hotel is great for value-priced level lodging. The rooms were quite clean and the breakfast was adequate. My main concern was the arrangement of smoking/non-smoking rooms. I believe one of the floors is completely smoke-free, but the 3rd level, where we had a room, was completely mixed. Sometimes there was a non-smoking room surrounded by those where smoking was allowed, so the smell in the hallway was overpowering.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed at this motel for 2 nights in July 2008. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was above average for the chain motels with all food items being individually packaged .There was an above average selection as well. There was a staff person on hand all the time to ensure that things were restocked and she was most helpful and friendly. The breakfast room was small, but we were able to get a place to sit each day. The only drawback to this motel was that it was a split level with the lobby being on a different level from the 3 floors of rooms. That meant that no matter where you had a room, you had to move your luggage up/down stairs. No elevator either. So if you have a lot of luggage, ask for a room on the first floor as then you only have 3 or 4 steps. We sort of wish we had stayed at a place with a pool as the days we were there were very hot and after a long day at Mesa Verde park, it would have been nice to come back and have a dip. But the motel was one of the cheapest we had on our entire holiday, so I guess we can't complain. The location was good, with a grocery store across the street and many restaurants in walking distance. We would be happy to stay there again on another visit. It was excellent value for money.

  • Liked — the breakfast and location
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Good standard hotel. Nothing fancy & a little tired but has all you need. Room & bathroom were clean. Bathroom small but not problematically so. Breakfast was ok, with a nice range of food, although again the breakfast room was very small.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — the musty smell in the hallways
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

This was one of the cheaper places we stayed on our trip. The location was good (walking distance to restaurants) with standard facilities. The free computer didn't work but breakfast was good. In general a perfectly good place to stay if you are passing through Cortez or visiting Mesa Verde.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Friendly staff and good value.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, Belgium
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

Cortez: Super 8 Motel Cortez, "Moderate Motel"
Date: July 02, 2008
Reviewer: a TripAdvisor member, Brugge, Belgium
Stayed 2 nights in Super 8 Motel, Cortez.. Clean, small room, no view out of the window (looking at a wall). No swimmingpool, no place to relax outside. Good breakfast. Friendly Staff. Close to restaurants and big supermarket opposite the street. Quiet. Close to Mesa Verde NP.

  • Liked — Location near restaurants and supermarket
  • Disliked — Small room, no window view, no possibility to sit outside.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel

Address: 505 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Cortez
Super 8 Cortez
Super Eight Cortez
Cortez Super Eight
Cortez Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.