We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2020 E. Main St., Cortez, CO 81321   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
cortez
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent 6 days during our vacation at this motel. The service was great, the stufffriendly. The manager Andrew is the best. He is always very friendly and does his best, to make us feel, like staying at home. He tried, to solve our requestions. We would stay here again. The rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    30
    21
    9
See reviews for
44
63
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've had bad experiences with other Econ Lodge's, but also some pleasant surprises, and hope springs eternal. Should have known better. Among our issues: TV reception not too good, remote control didn't work (was missing a battery), hole on the back of the bathroom door where the hook should have been (no hook in the bathroom is a pet peeve of mine), no phone, no hairdryer, unable to turn the bedside lamp on/off on the lamp itself, miserable breakfast (couldn't even get a piece of toast), and the real kicker - no cold water in the sink faucet, only hot.
Needless to say, we won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodge120, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I am sorry to read through your experience at the property.

The TV reception has been looked into by the cable provider and taken care of. In respect to the hanger, maintenance has been informed to take care of this, Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

The Econo Lodge brand does not mandate that hair dryers be placed in each room, we have a sign at the front desk stating that any guest staying with us may request for a hair dryer to be brought to their room if they need one. Only the superior rooms have a hair dryer.

In respect to the breakfast, The Econo Lodge meets and exceeds the minimum requirements for the brand, the property offers a deluxe continental breakfast whcih includes hot waffles, and fruit.

I will look into what could have happened with the hot water.

Please feel free to call at the property and speak to Andrew and we will try our best to welcome you back and create the experience you desire.

Bob Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Best hotel I've stayed in monthes !! Nice clean rooms with new super comfortable mattresses and adjustable massaging shower head ( great after 12 hours on the road). Free Wifi and an attentive staff helped me with places to eat and relax. They knew all about Mesa Verde National Park along with Canyons of the Ancients and Hovenweep National Monuments. I would recommend the Econolodge in Cortez, Colorado to anyone who wants to save money but, not give up the basics of cleanliness and service. I'll be Back !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacous and have great views of the Mountains. Most face south with good sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

i work out of town for a living and travel all over the United States. i miss my friends and family alot and get home sick at times. But thanks to the Excellent Service of April, Andrew, and the rest of the team here at Econoldge my stay has been wonderful here, like my home away from home!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The room was clean. The evening staff was nice and friendly. The only problem I had was I could not get in the room that had the ice machine. The next morning the staff was not so great. The lady could not print my receipt and just wasn't very helpful. She did not have much respect for her job. But overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodge120, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the property.

I am sorry to hear that one of our staff did not present themselves appropriately. This incident has been discussed with the staff member and we can assure you that she has assured the management that she did not in any way mean to come across inappropriately.

The staff and management at the property are committed to making sure that all our guests are treated professionally.

Bob Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We were on a road trip and got tired so we pulled in around midnight. The office ws open and the check-in clerk was friendly. Our room was clean and spacious. The included breakfast was okay, but we were really more interested in a clean room for the night so it was a good choice for us. I would recommend it, especially if you are just looking for a decent place to sleep while driving across the state.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've had a very pleasant stay at Econo Lodge last Thursday. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The room is spacious. Although it's right off the Main Street, the sound-proof works pretty well. Andrew is extremely nice and made us feel at home. He offered to move microwave to our room, and offered laundry service. The breakfast was good too. Overall we strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2020 E. Main St., Cortez, CO 81321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cortez
Cortez Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Cortez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.