We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been a great choice on every trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2121 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Been a great choice on every trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've been to Cortez on business several times in the past five years and this has always been the place. And each time, it has been a great stay.

Location-wise, it's a great jumping off point if you're going to do Mesa Verde, Four Corners and many of the other nearby sites. It's honestly not a bad place even if you're going to spend a day in Durango (maybe you'll even get to see an elk on the drive).

Rooms are clean, neat and comfortable. Many will give you good views of the west side of Mesa Verde or Ute Mountain. You can walk to a handful of restaurants (most would likely choose to drive to downtown Cortez, especially if it's hot).

The free breakfast is solid, if not flashy. And honestly, that kind of sums up the place. Things I might ask for here are purely indulgence items. The service has only ever been great, the room quiet and cozy. I have never had an issue here and I've been here in on- and off-seasons. Plenty of chances for something to be out of whack. Probably my favorite Holiday Inn anywhere, honestly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    120
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
151
141
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express was the best one we ever stayed at. The front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was done just right and the two ladies taking care of it made you feel like you went home to moms. The location was great, especailly close to restaurants and gas stations. If we are ever in the area again, will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by Cortez as it was a convenient stop to see Mesa Verde. Lots of food to choose from and easy shopping to restock up on our trip. The hotel is excellent. Very clean with a super nice staff. The rooms were very nice. The free Breakfast was excellent! Overall an excellent choice for good, clean and an economical stay!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A great hotel and a great place for families. We stayed in the kids suite and our kids loved the 2 sets of bunk beds in their "fort". The local decor of the hotel is something more hotels should model after.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was an above average hotel with a great view of the mountains. The rooms were clean for the most part....except the throw blanket on one of our beds which had food or something encrusted on it. Nice indoor pool and hot tub enclosed on three sides with glass for viewing the scenery. Breakfast was the standard holiday inn stuff but good. They also have a gym and laundromat adjacent to the parking lot and offer a free drink voucher for the restaurant/bar next door. Overall, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Cortez was not the highlight of our 3 week road trip. The only reason we stayed in this hotel was
because it was close to Mesa Verde,a place I have always wanted to see, and Durango. When we arrived, we found it to be a very lovely property. When we opened the door to our room, it STUNK of cigarette smoke. They said it was a non-smoking property. The restaurant availability was not so great either. Instead of 3 days, we stayed 2. The breakfast was not too bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Cortez, CO. The facility is very well maintained with the friendliest staff. Melissa at the front desk was especially courteous and we must give kudos to the wonderful breakfast staff as well. Madonna and Leona were very busy keeping buffet clean and stocked all the while making sure the guests had everything they needed. Madonna went out of her way to greet us each day and share a smile. The Inn has a very nice fitness center and laundry facilities and offers bottled water to the guests each afternoon. We spoke with the manager to complement him on his staff. His very pleasant demeanor made it clear that this is a friendly working environment. His very hospitable attitude is reflected in his staff. ....Well done!! We would certainly recommend this Holiday Inn to any who are planning a visit to Mesa Verde or Durango, CO.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez

Address: 2121 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wired and Wireless Internet access! Microwave and refreigerators in every room. Free Hot Breakfast Buffett! 100% Non-Smoking! Sorry, No Pets Allowed. Indoor Pool, Dry Sauna & Jacuzzi! Breakfast served 6:30am-9:30am M-F and 6:30am-10:00am Sat & Sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez Hotel Cortez
Holiday Inn Cortez
Cortez Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.