We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2121 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was a great stay, with a reasonable price. The amenities are wonderful, the free breakfasts are great, lots of food and variety. The only thing that was average I would say was the cleanliness of the pool. But we were staying at a time when the hotel was packed, and a ton of people had already used the pool and hot tub. The room was clean and they had even turned the cooler down when we got there. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    158
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
188
174
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the nicest Holiday Inn Express we have ever stayed in! Very friendly and helpful staff (Galen and Dana) during our entire stay. Beautiful décor throughout. Lots of good choices for breakfast. Great location - just a few miles from Mesa Verde National Park. Would definitely stay here again.
Nancy and Dick H.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Nancy and Dick H! YES!!! Aren’t Galen and Dana nice! I just posted this review at the Front Desk and will acknowledge Galen and Dana in front of the Entire Hotel at our next Hotel-Wide meeting; they will be stoked (sp?)! Breakfast is my favorite meal in Cortez because there are like 20 places you can have it! One of my favorites is a Breakfast Burrito smothered in Green Chili from Bennys Diner. Or anything at Pipo’s, El Grande or the Ute Mountain Coffee Shop! They are all small, local, character-rich little breakfast places that you ONLY find in small towns. If you’re here for a Saturday Morning from now til October, there is a farmers market and a elderly couple who also sell breakfast burritos (are you noticing that I like breakfast burritos?) out of an old blue van; OMG!!! Don’t miss them! Can’t wait to see you two back with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Holiday Inn in Cortez was a great place to stay. VERY clean, pleasant staff, free breakfast, free bottles of water, close proximity to Mesa Verde and the Four Corners. A very good overall experience. (we had a little issue with the wifi at first, but got it worked out)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresser, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this motel on our way home from Arizona. We were impressed with the entire motel. When we checked in, I was told that I could park my motorcycle right outside the front door on the sidewalk. When I came out in the morning, I found a pail of carwash soap and water along with towels waiting for me to clean up the bike. Only a fellow biker could appreciate what that means to have someone care so much! The women who worked the breakfast area were extremely friendly and helpful. We came in from Arizona and New Mexico and none of the breakfast staff members in those states even spoke to the guests.
I'm from the midwest and appreciate a friendly welcome when I am away from home!
This motel ranks right up at the top in my book!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After 2 days of camping at nearby Moorefield Campground in Mesa Verde (another great choice, by the way), we spend the last night of the long holiday weekend at the Holiday Inn Express in Cortez. We paid the extra $30 or so for the kids suite and it was well worth it. The room is large with a log "fort" built into the room with space for 4 kids. Our boys loved having their own private space where they could watch TV and play video games while we had some wine in the main hotel room and listened to Spotify through our iPhone on the clock radio (free wifi). The hotel has a terrific pool and grassy area outside where we got in some pick up football with some of the other guests while we waited for our room to be ready. The staff was great and the hotel is very clean. They serve a typical hot breakfast buffet in the morning so everyone got plenty to eat. We got takeout dinner from Nero's, a local Italian restaurant that we found in Frommer's. Probably the best meal we've had all year and we eat out a LOT!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had booked two rooms for one night while on a recent trip. The hotel was clean, quiet, and the staff was exceptional. They did everything they possibly could to make our stay memorable. I was impressed from the moment we arrived to our departure. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel would be a find in a major city, let alone Cortez. The lobby is expansive and well decorated, and there's a smaller, attractive seating area on the second floor. Our room was very large, thoughtfully appointed and quiet despite being near the elevators. The laundry room is in the lower level of the adjacent restaurant and I used my voucher for a free drink to sip a glass of wine while I did laundry, which the waitress encouraged and certainly made the chore more pleasant! The staff was helpful and friendly. There's an attractive outdoor seating area near the indoor pool. This is a top-notch hotel for travelers to Mesa Verde National Park or Cortez.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
0.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
2.3 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#7 of 17 in Cortez
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
3.0 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez

Address: 2121 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wired and Wireless Internet access! Microwave and refreigerators in every room. Free Hot Breakfast Buffett! 100% Non-Smoking! Sorry, No Pets Allowed. Indoor Pool, Dry Sauna & Jacuzzi! Breakfast served 6:30am-9:30am M-F and 6:30am-10:00am Sat & Sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez Hotel Cortez
Holiday Inn Cortez
Cortez Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.