We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tear this place down and start over” 1 of 5 stars
Review of American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez to your Saves list
American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 South Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321 (Formerly Anasazi Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Durants Neck, North Carolina
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Tear this place down and start over”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Horrible place to stay. The walls were so thin we were kept awake at night with noise above and on either side of us. The carpets were so old, I was not willing to walk bare footed. The bathroom - is an entirely different story. I did not feel clean after taking a shower in there, and the towels wre so small and worn so thin they hardly dried you.

Room Tip: It is not possible to choose a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L R, Manager at American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Responding to comments. We strive to make our guests comfortable and have memorable thoughts of the Mesa Verde Inn in Cortez. Our rooms are comfortable with large king and queen beds and modern facilities. We have the largest hot tub and swimming pool of any hotel in Cortez. We are sorry about a few guests that made comments about our rooms. We are recarpeting 30 rooms and have updated our bathrooms and buildings. We have thousands of guests each season and 99 percent thank us for a lovely visit and make comments. We aim to please and wish guest who were not happy had mentioned it to us. We offer 5 acre of grounds for pet walking large vehicle parking and a friendly staff to assist everyone.
Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    19
    10
    18
See reviews for
21
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
salem
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Bad service. Our room wasn't made up, when I asked at least for clean towels I was told that because we had 2 people in our room we could only get 2 towels, guess using one towel for your hair and one for your body is no longer an option. AC didn't work. Our traveling companion's room was missing a bed. There are so many options for budget motels in the area, this shouldn't need to be considered. The online information does't represent it accurately. We didn't even attempt the breakfast. Mesa Verde though is fantastic!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We spent 3 weeks on the road in 5 different states and this was by far the worse "hotel" we stayed in. The room was old and dirty. The fridge was sat on a wooden plinth at a very strange angle. No Coffee or Tea in the room yet alone an iron. The sheets had not been ironed. The pool area was old, tired and stones in the water. The hot tub area was just a mess. The breakfast buffet was in a convention room opposite and resembled the aftermath of a natural disaster scene and the ice machine was broken......so I would NOT recommend this place at all - my wife was almost in tears when she saw the state of the place. Stick to Best Westerns/Holiday Inn is my advice - great style and comfort.

Room Tip: Do not stay here...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESCOTT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is an Old motel and we would not return. The pictures looked good. We booked on line and wished we hadn't once we arrived. The outside of the building had been painted and there seemed to be some attempt to make it look better.The bedroom part had new carpet and newer spreads.... which helped us to stay. The bathroom is just OLD. It needed some serious updating. The place looked 'cheap' once we arrived. We had taken our friends with us and booked their room also. Coming home we drove straight through by leaving Gunnison early.
We were to be served breakfast with the stay. What a disappointment. There was a bowl of applesauce and an almost empty container of yogurt ... not sitting on ice... where you serve yourself. The yogurt had about 2 TBS in the bottom and we were one of the first ones to arrive. Sliced bread, English muffins and a toaster. Oh yes, some boiled eggs. It should have been shut down by the health department. These few items were served on long tables looking into 'scary ' large open areas.... like a warehouse Not welcoming at all. Sorry, but we will not be back. We left and went to a restaurant to eat. Not a good experience for us or our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubendorf, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The room was old, worn and barely clean. Staff wasn't very friendly and not helpful at all. They would have served breakfast, but no one told us. Just noticed it when checking out. At least they got free wifi. The price was too high for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at the Mesa Verde for one night, as part of a driving tour booked through an agent. The Mesa Verde is on the South Western side of Cortez & away from the main drag of shops / restaurants / other hotels.
On reading some of the reviews, I was tempted to not even check in, simply go to a more established name in town. As we were only in Cortez for about 12 hours we decided to run with it & see if we could survive a night here. On the whole, I was pleasantly surprised. We checked in, from the view of the car park we were one of four guests! The rooms are dated, very dated but clean. Fridge & microwave, good pressure / temp on the shower as well. WiFi was also fast.
My wife did wonder why I was checking the bedding before going to sleep, I'd not told herjust how bad some of the reviews are for this place!
On the whole, it's not great, but it's not awful either. The lady at the front desk was helpful when we borrowed a hair dryer & asked about checking out early (reception isn't open until 0730). We got a decent night's sleep & when you're on a driving holiday that's what you want more than anything!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I asked a friend who is from the area where she'd recommend I stay and this is where she sent us. And she really is a friend, but the place has changed a lot since her memory. It's quite old and hasn't been updated at all. The hot tub is very spacious, but dirty. Oh, is it dirty! Yuck. The thing is, we just needed a room for the night (two rooms, actually) and if it had been a screaming deal--like $55--I'd have felt I got what I paid for and that would be it--but it was $80 just like any of the nice clean places around there. As it was, I'm going to the trouble to write a review and warn you against it so what does that tell you?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez

Address: 640 South Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321 (Formerly Anasazi Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mesa Verde Inn Cortez Hotel Cortez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.