We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff and superb hot spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321-3319   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Devon UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and superb hot spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our first stay at a Best Western Hotel and we were not disappointed.

I have to start by commending the staff at this hotel. They were very welcoming and friendly and nothing whatsoever was too much trouble for them - they really were a credit to the hotel trade.

Our room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. If I made a mistake it was not booking a larger room as I have to say that our room was not at all spacious and the bathroom was somewhat cramped. This wasn't too much of an issue as we only stayed for one night but if a longer stay is on your agenda then I would definitely suggest that booking a suite or larger room is essential.

The hotel has a fine outdoor pool but the outstanding feature is the indoor hot tub which was an absolute delight to use being very spacious and in a lovely setting.

Breakfast was very good and we had no complaints on that score.

I have given this 4 star rating simply because of the limited size of our room - if you pay extra and book a larger room you may well consider this hotel worthy of a 5-star.

All things considered this is a hotel to be recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    237
    107
    31
    11
See reviews for
218
215
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Despite the fact that when we arrived the internet was not working in the room; we were advised immediately and it was available in the lobby area. The staff from checkin to the folks at breakfast were all very willing to assist. Overall, was pleasantly surprised by the whole property. Good value, nice layout and more than adequate for our one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Turquoise Inn. Restaurants & shopping are all walking distance & the entrance to Mesa Verde is 10 miles away. More than adequate breakfast every morning with lots more than cold cereal - eggs, fresh fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, waffles, juice, etc. Very friendly and helpful staff. I think we'll try the suites next time we're here because they may be a little more quiet.
It's an older property but beautiful & well maintained. The flowers are gorgeous here this summer. Be sure to visit Mary in the gift shop which is well stocked with authentic locally made jewelry at reasonable prices - and not the same stuff you find everywhere. Would definitely recommend the Turquoise Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 218 and we were pleasantly surprised to find out the 2 king was actually a 2 bedroom of huge proportions. You could easily sleep 6 in there with the extra sofabed. I also liked that the room gave out to a patio overlooking the pool. Breakfast was good (great waffles) and service was friendly. The only reason this hotel gets 4 stars is the (very) noisy AC units and the soft bed ... all in all this did keep me up more than I wanted. Replace the AC and mattress and I would have given this a five star review.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Booked the room over the phone. The gentleman handling reservations was extremely helpful in picking the right room for me and my two motorcycle buddies. When we arrived, check-in was smooth and friendly. The room was clean and perfect for our needs. Two queen beds in the bedroom and the most comfortable sofa bed I've ever slept on in the front room. Rate was very reasonable for the accommodations. Location was great. Decent restaurant/bar down the street. We had a few cocktails and didn't need to ride back to the motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My favorite hotel that I stayed at during my trip. Beds were super comfy, and the breakfast was great. I was a bit disappointed that the hot tub pump was not working, but we still went in the lukewarm tub and it was fine. I will recommend to anyone coming through Cortez to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Traveling with kids and we stayed last night at the Holiday Inn Express in Cortez. In comparing the two hotels, I would stay at the Best Western even though it's a little older. The BW gave us 2 Queen beds, but it also had a sitting room with an extra TV and a pull out. I liked having the extra room to stretch out in as did the kids. There was a mini-fridge in the room and it was very comfortable. The pool was outside (vs. the Holiday Inn's indoor pool), and it was partially shaded by the buildings in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites

Address: 535 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Southwestern-style Motor Inn on Highway 160; 5 blocks east of business district; 8 miles from Montezuma City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turquoise Hotel Cortez
Best Western Cortez
Cortez Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.