We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place But Smoking Allowed In Common Areas Detracts From Non-Smoking Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321-3319   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Place But Smoking Allowed In Common Areas Detracts From Non-Smoking Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel has suites that are great for family vacations (2 double beds in 1 room w/ door + double bed sleeper couch in living room). All rooms are nonsmoking except for 4 rooms near the lobby. However, when I told the front desk that a man was smoking outside our room, I learned that the hotel forbids people from smoking only in the non-smoking rooms but people are free to smoke in the halls, the courtyard & other areas of the hotel. I was shocked. Smoke easily seeps into rooms from the hallways. Also, we wanted to eat breakfast in the shaded outdoor courtyard but decided not to since we figured a smoker would light up as soon as we sat down. If you don't like inhaling second hand smoke, you might want to stay elsewhere. I hope the hotel changes this policy because smoke in the common areas detracted from an otherwise pleasant experience. This hotel (except for the smoke) is one of the nicest places to stay when visiting Mesa Verde (a "must do" in the Four Corners area).

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you mind people smoking in the hall outside your non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    237
    107
    31
    11
See reviews for
218
215
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hotchkiss, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

It is our choice each year when we go to Cortez. We had stayed in other Hotels before we stayed here. The staff is great and rooms are clean. Our 5 stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Ideally located in the Main street of Cortez we found this B/W to be in our top two of all the hotels/motels we stayed in over 9 States of the US of A over the month of January. A great base to visit Mesa Verde, ski Purgatory outside Durango and relax with a few at the Main St Brewery ! The Suite was great value at under $US120 with hot breakfast for 4 !The staff were overly friendly and helpful and when we mentioned AAA affiliation (NRMA, RACV etc for aussies) the rate was reduced ! Talk about great value for your buck ! Well worth the diversion if you are in the location or on your way to Vegas , Grand Canyon etc.

Room Tip: If travelling with teenagers ask for the suite , worth the peace and quite !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

The staff was friendly. The rooms were large, newly remodeled and clean. The pool was pristine. Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chungju, South Korea
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This place was AMAZING. I wasn't so sure from the looks of the outside when we first got there, but the room was huge and beautiful and exceeded our expectations 100%! I was extremely bummed we got there late and then had to leave again early. The bed was one of the best I've ever slept in. Room was extremely clean and had quality toiletries. All the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was very good, but my only complaint was that it didn't start until 6:30 when we were leaving at 6:45 for a tour at Mesa Verde National Park. I thought that was strange when that's where most of their guests will probably be going.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked a 2 bed queen suite. This also included a fairly large area with a sofa bed, chair, t..v, and refrigerator. The place was very clean. They had a nice hot free breakfast that was included in the price of the room. We were very pleased with our overnight stay there. We walked down the road a piece to eat dinner at a place they recommended. It was something like "Jerry's " can't recall the name, but it is a meat and vegetable place with large portions and reasonable prices and locally owned. If you are going to Mesa Verde, you can purchase tickets at the Colorado Welcome Center there in Cortez. Do this ASAP because it is first come, first serve on the tickets!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. We loved it so much the first time two years ago that we didn't even hesitate to book it for this trip. We were not disappointed. Their suites are big and clean. The landscaping in the courtyard is beautiful. The staff is friendly. They have hot continental breakfast (eggs, sausage, waffles). There is a nice outdoor pool plus a huge indoor hottub (with a waterfall). There are plenty of restaurants nearby. And to top it off, they are pet friendly which we needed for this trip. This hotel remains as my #1 favorite Best Western ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites

Address: 535 East Main Street, Cortez, CO 81321-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Southwestern-style Motor Inn on Highway 160; 5 blocks east of business district; 8 miles from Montezuma City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turquoise Hotel Cortez
Best Western Cortez
Cortez Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.