We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, lousy food, high prices” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Tree Terrace

Spruce Tree Terrace
State Hwy 10, Cortez, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 57 restaurants in Cortez
Cuisines: American
Description: In Mesa Verde National Park
Restaurant details
Description: In Mesa Verde National Park
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Convenient location, lousy food, high prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I expected to pay a premium cost for the convenience of dining at Spruce Tree House but did not expect the mostly lousy food. The chicken on the Southwest chicken salad was like jerky. The pizza was burnt. The hot dog and chips were decent. The fry bread was fresh and really quite tasty. Nice touch: the self-serve drink dispenser had a lot of choices including Gatorade.

The staff was busy talking with each other about their social plans and pretty much threw our trays at us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    3
    5
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch in Mesa Verde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stopped in for a sandwich while spending most of the day in the park. Service was decent and food was made to order.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, AZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not very appetizing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We wanted a quick lunch so we could continue our exploration of Mesa Verde National Park, so we both ordered hotdogs. I had coleslaw with mine, my husband had chips. What could go wrong? The buns were cold and gummy, hotdog was skimpy (for the price). My coleslaw had absolutely no taste whatsoever. Chips were stale. Thank goodness we could eat outside because the grease smell inside was overpowering. Even walking through the gift shop I could feel the grease penetrating my clothing. We got out of there quickly. We will bring our own lunch next time we visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
“Good cafe to enjoy the outdoors.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the only real option for a decent meal until other eateries in Mesa Verde NP open up later in the season.The Park is open year round in good weather and this Café is right in the centre. Open daily except for the usual holidays and with restricted winter hours or longer hours in high summer.

We had a great grilled cheese sandwich and a bakery item but could have had a burger or taco. Other items available depend on the season especially over the winter/early spring period where there is a limited menu but usually appetizers, salads, entrees and desserts - one popular suggestion is their Navajo Taco.The coffee is not too bad either and the service was friendly and efficient.

There is indoor seating and also a nice terraced area where we sat in the sun to eat our lunch. In the summer though it would be quite hot without those umbrellas for shade. A rather nice gift shop is located within the same building to make your break even more leisurely.

Enjoy your experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Fabulous Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had a fry bread and the soup of the day - which was pork & bean. Both were excellent, but the soup was among the best that I have ever had. Each item was only $3.50 and an ample size serving. I thought it was so great that I complimented the cook. He was grateful and offered a small sample of the next days soup to try. It was good too but promised to be better after slow cooking overnight. These are home-made and a bargain, especially at a national park setting. Do be sure to walk around and see the gift shop, the museum and the Indian ruins while you are there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Tree Terrace also viewed

 

Been to Spruce Tree Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Tree Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.