We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Eagle Inn and Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Eagle Inn and Family Lodge to your Saves list
White Eagle Inn and Family Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2110 S. Broadway Highway 491, Cortez, CO 81321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call for best rates!
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a great family owned and operated hotel. the location in Coprtez means it is convenient to Mesa Verde and the whole host of sites in the area, including Hovenweep national monument, Canyons of the Ancients National Monument, and even the adjacent sites in Utah like Natural Bridges and Canyonlands the needles district.

The rooms are much larger than typical hotels. The customer service is outstanding. We called to let them know we were going to be getting in late, and they told us our room numbers, left our doors unlocked, and the keys inside!

The style of the hotel is older, but it is extremely well maintained and clean, judging from the 2 rooms we used.

The only con is that the electrical system in the rooms is a bit sketchy. Like the rest of the hotel, it dates from the '50's, so there aren't enough outlets. There are none in the bathroom, in fact. Not a biggie for us, since we are typically out all day anyway.

Room Tip: Call ahead and let Connie at the desk get to know what you want out of your trip. she knows the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    123
    33
    7
    7
See reviews for
68
112
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A couple of miles from the main junction and on the main road. Clean room and toilet. Rooms are a bit small but just enough. We had left behind a few items on check out and we were able it pick it up on our way back. It was nice of them to have kept it neatly packed for us. No break fast included. Very friendly owners.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stopped here with 3 other mountain bike friends b/c a spring snow storm was blowing in and it was going to be a slow drive North. We opted to stay here b/c of the good reviews and low price. The hotel was nothing fancy but it was very clean. The staff was very nice and we were treated well. I would definitely recommend staying here if need a place to stay in Cortez!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 which had 3 beds and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was my first experience staying at a roadside motel and I was a little nervous, but I loved it. The owners are very kind and friendly and our room was spotlessly cleaned and managed. We took an end room, #17, which had three double beds. It was comfortable and quiet. The wood paneling, popcorn ceiling and small green tiles in the bathroom made me feel like I was stepping back in time or into a "Supernatural" episode.

Great place! It's an easy drive to Mesa Verde and in a quiet location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, MI
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a motel in the old-fashioned meaning of the word. Nothing fancy and no waffle-laden breakfast, either. But the family running this place are friendly, courteous and very helpful with all the places to visit in the area. The rooms are spacious (at least, ours was!) clean and very well kept up and maintained. Our bed was comfortable and the bathroom and shower were very well maintained. A very reasonable price means that this was a nice value for staying in the Cortez area. As a caveat, we use the room as a place to come back to, not as a place to spend our time, so if you are interested in entertaining guests you might want to look for a larger place or a more 'commercial' venture, but for us? We will come back again, and I recommend you do likewise!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed one night in this motel which is on the south side of Cortez.

It is an old style motel with all the rooms on ground level with parking directly in front of the rooms.

We were looking for a clean inexpensive place to stay the night and that is exactly what we got.

Nothing flash but everything worked.

Our mattress had seen better days but it was comfortable enough.

All in all a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We read the reviews for Cortez and were very
pleased with are stay here. This is a great clean quiet family run place. They had all the info on hand we needed for our trip to Mesa Verde+ info for pet daycare and great diner recommendations PS. We had 12hrs undisturbed comfy sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Eagle Inn and Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Eagle Inn and Family Lodge

Address: 2110 S. Broadway Highway 491, Cortez, CO 81321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — White Eagle Inn and Family Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Eagle Inn and Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Eagle Inn and Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.