We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepperhead

Pepperhead
44 West Main Street, Cortez, CO
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 61 Restaurants in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, NH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A hotel desk clerk recommended Pepperhead as the best Mexican Restaurant in the area. She did me right. As a new englander, it is difficult to find authentic and tasty Mexican or southwestern cuisine. The pork chimichanga smothered in salsa verde was excellent and filling. The dark beer was the perfect accompaniment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    40
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was recommended to us by the clerk at the motel we stayed at. The salsa that is made in house was absolutely wonderful. I had the stacked chicken enchilada with green chili sauce. It was terrific with lots of chicken. The green sauce was among the best I have had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Suprisinginly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went to the restaurant on recommendation from the front desk at the motel we are staying in. Have so save it was very good. Of all things I had (Cuban sandwich), it was very tasty and filled with pork. It came with a small side of beans (they were so -so) and rice. the house made salsa was also excellent. Price was 9 dollars for the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One hit, two misses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our order was a Tampequena plate, and a Combo B (two rellenos and a beef enchilada).
First, we were served chips and salsa. The salsa was very odd: lots of heat, mostly blended tomatoes ... but there was an odd flavoring (almost a fishy background taste).
The Tampequena plate was wonderful (wish I'd ordered it!) The thin-cut steak was tender, the carne seca taco was very good....but the cheese enchilada was more like goo under the steak.

Now, the rellenos. I've had them everywhere and they're my barometer of a restaurant. These, unfortunately, were hot-hot-hot but otherwise tasteless. They lwere bullet-shaped and ooked molded by a machine.

If we return, we'll know how to order.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Saint Martin Caballero - UK Visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate at Pepperhead Restaurant during our visit to Cortez (to see Mesa Verde which was closed due to Gov Shutdown). We asked the waitress about the beautiful statue on show in the restaurant and she said she would find out about it for us. Pete came to our table to tell us the history of this statue....what a lovely gesture it was. Phil and I will never forget our visit to Cortez because of the quality and price of the food and wine offered at Pepperhead but especially the kindness shown to us and we wish Pete and Tess every success with their restaurant.....they truly deserve to succeed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepperhead also viewed

 

Been to Pepperhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepperhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.