We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack and Janelle's Country Kitchen

Jack and Janelle's Country Kitchen
801 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3322
970-565-2572
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 61 Restaurants in Cortez
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Takeout
Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
412 helpful votes 412 helpful votes
“Old School Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It's casual, family owned and operated, old school hospitality and a well balanced breakfast menu. Jack greets you at the door, Janelle makes sure your coffee cup is always full. They serve a traditional American Breakfast Fare which seems to draw a local crowd. I was there at 7 AM on a Thursday morning and it was 3/4 full. I think we all like to see a local crowd in small town restaurants. I had the All American Breakfast (2 eggs, sausage, hash brown potatoes and a biscuit) $6.95. The food was freshly made, biscuit came with jam and arrived in a reasonable amount of time. The never empty cup of coffee was $1.95 served before the breakfast came with hospitality that said, "Thank you for coming to breakfast". My only small complaint is that I like my hash browns shredded very finely. Maybe they would have finely shredded the hash brown's if I had asked.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    79
    27
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A strange lunch experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through Cortez and stopped because we were all so hungry. While the owner and wait staff were friendly, They acted a little too familiar with us too quickly. The restaurant was not clean and the food was mediocre. We were ready to get out of there and on our way to our destination. If we were in Cortez again, we would pass on this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Dinner was good. We had the barbecue. It wasn't great, but we would give it another chance. I understand that they serve a good breakfast. Staff was very attentive and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baraboo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

ate here on our family vacation. we went out of our way to not eat at a chain. we wanted something more local. the portions were big. the price was right. the waitress was sweet. the food was good however due to a cook in training the 2 omlettes ordered had their cheese choices swaped. really not a big deal. 1 biskets and gravey was enough. give it a chance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont Bother...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The atmosphere was okay but it really smelt weird not sure exactly what it was. Our waiter was kind of rude definitely had a weird sense of humor. I had high hopes for this place had herd they had good comfort food but really when I left I think I needed more comfort then when I went in.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack and Janelle's Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Jack and Janelle's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack and Janelle's Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.