We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flash from the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomahawk Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tomahawk Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tomahawk Lodge
728 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Cortez
Newfane, Vermont
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Flash from the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I stayed in this motel in 1974 on my first cross country trip. When we planned a trip to see our daughter in Colorado this winter, I was excited to see that it was still in use. I was also happy to see such good reviews. The owner is a very lovely lady. The room was very clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    72
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
63
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

The owner, a native of Poland, is sweet as can be and welcomed us with a gracious smile and a nice chat. We had two carloads of six adults and four children under 12 headed to New Mexico and stayed here midway through the long trip. We were booked in three adjacent rooms that were modestly decorated but everything was clean and functional. Nice part, for families, is that each motel room had one of the beds in another room for privacy and better sleep. So each room was actually two small rooms.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

stayed for 1 night having driven around cortez for a few minutes and seen a few scary looking motels! for $49 we got a great double room which was spotlessly clean- much cleaner than a lot of the chain motels we have stayed in over the past few weeks. the owner is really friendly too and although our room did not have a fridge or microwave she offered to heat anything up we wanted or free ice to cool anything down. very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

If you want a clean bed to sleep in at night, a shower w/hot water all the time, and service you'd never get at an five star place, you need to come here. We spent most of our time out and about exploring our surroundings. Just needed a comfortable bed to sleep in at night. It's in a great location. . . just miles from every attraction. We visited Mesa Verde, Arches, Durango, Telluride, Mancos, Silverton, and too many other places to mention. Instead of paying hundreds of dollars per night save your money to see the wonderful sights nearby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCity,SD
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Do not be afraid to stay here. Rooms very clean & comfortable beds. Lots of hot water for showering. One level hotel with parking out front. Very nice owners with the largest great dane dog I have ever seen. Safe and quiet location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forlì
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Nice place near Mesa Verde Naional Park.
Silent, large, clean and confortable room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

What you have in this town are the overpriced chains, including a big new Baymont where the snooty attitude rivals the Lodge at Jackson Hole and prices to match! Hello... it's a BAYMONT!! Also, there's an Econo-lodge with prices nearing the three digits.
On the other end are all kinds of filthy trashy dives costing $39/night. This is one of those rare properties in the middle. As with many of the other reviewers, the owners keep this place up and it's clean. They even replaced the windows with something more substantial which seem to keep out a lot of the road noise. However some of the traffic noise still does come in through the doors.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tomahawk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomahawk Lodge

Address: 728 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tomahawk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomahawk Hotel Cortez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomahawk Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.