We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomahawk Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tomahawk Lodge to your Saves list
Tomahawk Lodge
728 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Forlì
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Nice place near Mesa Verde Naional Park.
Silent, large, clean and confortable room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    83
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
69
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

What you have in this town are the overpriced chains, including a big new Baymont where the snooty attitude rivals the Lodge at Jackson Hole and prices to match! Hello... it's a BAYMONT!! Also, there's an Econo-lodge with prices nearing the three digits.
On the other end are all kinds of filthy trashy dives costing $39/night. This is one of those rare properties in the middle. As with many of the other reviewers, the owners keep this place up and it's clean. They even replaced the windows with something more substantial which seem to keep out a lot of the road noise. However some of the traffic noise still does come in through the doors.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I agree with all the other reviewers. This is your basic old time motel, no frills, no problems. My only thought was that maybe we should've paid $10/15 more and gotten a nicer place that had a free breakfast. When you add the cost of breakfast, the $82 ($75 plus taxes) doesn't seem like such a bargain. We found all of Colorado to be fairly expensive, but $82 for a basic, Motel 6-type room seems a bit steep to me.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Ocean
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

There are two ends to the main street in Cortez. On the east end are all the chain motels, and the prices are really high. On the west end are the locally owned places, and most are run down and pretty scary looking. The Tomahawk is on the west end and is notable for being clean and comfortable. But bear in mind, if you like frills this place is not for you. There is no clock, no shampoo, no fridge, no hair dryer. You get a nice, clean bed, a small TV and a clean bathroom, but really nothing else. There is an internet connection, but it is pretty slow. There is a TV, but no premium stations.

On the other hand, it costs about half of what the chains charge on the other side of town, so for the budget conscious, this is a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Exactly what we expected based on the reviews and for the price. This is not a 5-diamond resort, but it is clean, comfortable and very affordable. It was convenient for exploring Mesa Verde and Four Corners region. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean too, which can be unusual with older motels. And we were glad we could check emails with the free wi-fi too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

As the previous reviews have noted, this is a clean, centrally-located motel which is an excellent value. The rooms must have been somewhat updated with an efficient, quiet air conditioner. The staff are helpful, but please note that there are limitations to the services offered. Unless you specifically ask for more, you get exactly two bath towels, two plastic cups, and two pillows for a queen room for two people. There is also no shampoo, no clock radio, no in-room coffee and no breakfast except for caffeinated coffee and tea in the lobby. The motel is advertised as quiet, but during our stay, the only non-smoking rooms were next to the highway which is mostly quiet at night when the traffic dies down, but not during the day. They have a small swimming pool, but it was unheated and frigid in July. The location on South Broadway is central enough in Cortez and in the region, but it is located on the declining side of town. However, we did not feel unsafe despite the fact that the motel only had doors to the parking area in the classic motel style. All-in-all, it was an acceptable place to stay and quite affordable for those on a budget. Reservations can only be made via the telephone. Google the motel for the toll-free telephone number. As far as we could tell, internet reservations are not possible.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We gave this motel a chance after reading the other reviews and we're glad we did. Very clean, basic motel, with very friendly and helpful owner/managers. After driving all day, we were pleased to discover that there is a walking/jogging path behind the motel. Without the owner/manager's suggestions and directions, we would have never known it was there. We plan to return to Cortez again in the future to do more exploring in the area. We will definitely stay at Tomahawk Lodge again!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tomahawk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomahawk Lodge

Address: 728 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tomahawk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomahawk Hotel Cortez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomahawk Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.