We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trail walk to ruins that will amaze you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hovenweep National Monument

Hovenweep National Monument
McElmo Route, Cortez, CO 81321
970-562-4282
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Cortez
Type: Ancient Ruins, Monuments/ Statues, National Parks, Cultural
Activities: Driving, Camping, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Utah but near Cortez, this site has six ruins all built around 1200 AD.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Great trail walk to ruins that will amaze you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Do not miss the whole rim walk for all the ruins as the buildings are in pretty good shape and ready for photographs. The trip on the way to Mesa Verde is equal both ways,
One is VERY winding and the other takes you through the Valley of the Ancients.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    65
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Detour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spontaneously decided to visit Hovenweep on the way to Four Corners and are glad we did. You can walk the routes within an hour or so and view the ruins. We visited late May and the weather was beautiful....sunny, a nice breeze and pleasantly warm. The park ranger provides a map with the walking route around the ruins and the cost was $6/car. Very nice, easy walk with lots of ruins and picturesque views.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path, but Very Worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hovenweep was the third site of Ancestral Puebloan ruins we visited in mid-May (the other two being Mesa Verde National Park and Canyons of the Ancients National Monument). We added Hoveweep to our itinerary after stopping at the Anasazi Heritage Center near Cortez to plan our visit to Canyons of the Ancients.

Despite its major focus on Canyons of the Ancients (hereafter, "CotA"), if you're coming from Cortez, it's probably an excellent idea to visit the Anasazi Heritage Center before visiting Hovenweep. It's scarcely out of your way, and it's very informative. We decided to make a loop, and visit CotA's Lowry pueblo, Hovenweep, and CotA's Sand Canyon area. Check out the map at http://www.nps.gov/hove/planyourvisit/upload/HovenweepMap.pdf.

Despite the dire-sounding warnings on various official websites, the roads we travelled presented no particular challenges for my low-slung coupe. Of course, the weather was anything but inclement, and caution might well be warranted if significant storms are moving through the area.

At Hovenweep, we hiked the loop trail around Little Ruin Canyon at the main "Square Tower" area. The area is very scenic, and the numerous ruins are remarkable. In mid-May, it was quite warm. I can only imagine how toasty the place gets in July and August. After exploring CotA's Lowry pueblo and Hovenweep, we found we no longer had the energy to visit CotA's Sand Canyon area on our way back to Cortez.

While we didn't make an exhaustive tour of either Mesa Verde, Canyons of the Ancients or Hovenweep, we did visit some of the most popular features at each site, and appreciated the differences between them. Each is unique, and visiting all three helps, I think, to give one a well-rounded perspective on what is known of the Ancestral Puebloans who occupied these areas 800 years ago.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpoint, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice Monument”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nicely done Natl Monument. Rangers and volunteers are informative and helpful and the place gives you a very good feel for the times of these ancients. They are still doing excavations and more is being added. Will return in a couple of years to see what else they find.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't attempt to find this place with your auto's GPS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Wonderful attraction but don't attempt to find this attraction using only your Auto's GPS, it can't be done, we drove around for 4 hours, get a map from the information center or indian cultural center

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hovenweep National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hovenweep National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.