We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd go back if I were in the area....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hovenweep National Monument

Hovenweep National Monument
McElmo Route, Cortez, CO 81321
970-562-4282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Driving, Camping, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Utah but near Cortez, this site has six ruins all built around 1200 AD.
Idaho
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“I'd go back if I were in the area....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Intersting ruins site. We only had about an hour to explore, but I would return if I were in the area. Not a destination trip unless you're really into ruins, but a good stop while seeing other things.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    69
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“There was a time when people didn't need all the stuff to live.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hovenweep is a place to go and remind yourself that there was a time when people had housing... and no mortgages, or real estate agents, or appraisers, or inspectors....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hovenweep is for Lovers of Solitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I did two summers of archaeology field school and one six month stint as a ranger here, so I know it pretty well. While not as spectacular as Mesa Verde, Hovenweep has its own charm. The remoteness of its location removes you from the developed world and brings you closer to nature. Hovenweep, especially at the outlying ruins, allows you to move among the ruins as if you are the first to discover them. The quiet induces daydreams of how life was lived here 800 years ago.
Facilitywise, there is a very nice visitor center with helpful staff and a place to get cool on hot summer days. You can obtain trail guides and directions to the outlying ruins and information about camping. The campground is situated a short distance away and has a panoramic view of Sleeping Ute Mountain. I have enjoyed awesome sunsets and thunderstorms from this location. Expect to hear coyotes in the evening and to be visited by rabbits, collared lizards and ravens. If you are lucky, you may see an eagle or an owl at night. The campground is paved and has flush toilets, running water and shade structures with picnic tables.
The best time to visit is Spring and Fall. The Winter is cold and the Summer is HOT.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a beautiful area with unique ruins. Although it gets its fair share of visitors, it's far more low-key than Mesa Verde. Obviously the ruins are not as extensive, but still one of my favorite places to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome, ancient archeological beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A short 45 mile drive through some pretty country and then stark desert landscape gets you to Hovenweep. There are short walks to the canyon edge where one sees a couple of ruins but a 2 mile hike allows you to see them all, and it is well worth the time if the hike is within one's ability. The site is peaceful and brings to mind many questions about the original inhabitants.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hovenweep National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hovenweep National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.