We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highlight to any trip to Hot Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garvan Woodland Gardens

Garvan Woodland Gardens
550 Arkridge Road, Hot Springs, AR 71913
+1 501-262-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Hot Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garvan Woodland Gardens, the University of Arkansas' 210 acre botanical garden, is one of eight public, woodland gardens in the country and the only one located on a body of water. The Asian garden is ranked as the fifth best in North America, and in 2012 Garvan Woodland Gardens was named as one of the Top Five Most Spectacular Gardens In America. Over five miles of trails, unique bridges, waterfalls, a Children's Adventure Garden, and architectural wonder Anthony Chapel wedding complex are some of the highlights. View brilliant blooms year-round and one of the state's most elaborate outdoor holiday lights displays with over 4 million lights from mid-November through December; special night time hours. CLOSED JANUARY. Open 9 a.m.-6 p.m. February 1-November 20. Open Noon- 9 p.m. November 21-December 31. Closed Thanksgiving and Christmas Days. Admission: $15 adults, $5 ages 6-12, free ages 5 and under. Golf cart rides available on a first come first served basis for additional $15 per person. Chipmunk Cafe open 11 a.m. - 3 p.m. daily. Pet friendly and many ADA accessible trails.
League City, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Highlight to any trip to Hot Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a must see in Hot Springs! Went ther in the fall to see tree colors and found the foliage to be beautiful beyond jst the trees. The landscape and architecture are remakabe. The waterfalls are splendid and veiws are worth entry free and hikes. This is a photograghers paradise. Step out of the city and experience nature at its finest.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    123
    25
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zachary, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the lights. . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went on a cold, Rainy November night. It was worth it though. My husband and I really enjoyed the Christmas lights. My favorite was the Christmas tree that lit in sync with music that played. We stood before that tree a really long time. We also enjoyed the train display and the display of the piano, violin, and cello (which also played in sync with music). We also saw the beautiful St. Anthony's chapel. I could easily picture a bride going down the aisle and meeting her husband to be at the altar. The architecture was a sight to behold and had a beauty like nothing else. We would love to return in the spring time to see the beautiful flowers that the staff told us about in the gardens. It was an excellent attraction. I would recommend any family, couple, or anyone else visiting the Hot Springs area to visit this garden. It was well worth our time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Beautiful gardens, pathways, trails, overlook, bridges, waterfalls, peacocks, and koi pond! Even more beautiful.......the glass chapel that my son and his wife to be will be married at in April. It is the most perfect and romantic location!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you come to Hot Springs you need to take time out and go through the gardens, They put up a nice Christmas light display, we have a cabin just across the bay and we can see the light at night. Its very nice !!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I always go to Garvan when I'm in Hot Springs. If you do your research via the bloom calendar, you can see some of the most beautiful displays I've ever seen in a city garden. The Christmas light display never disappoints. A great trip any time of year!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garvan Woodland Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Garvan Woodland Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garvan Woodland Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.