We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Diner Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The English Muffin

The English Muffin
4816 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR
(501) 525-2710
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 235 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: Café
Restaurant details
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Diner Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place is like a trip back to the "Good Ole Days"! Hometown food and friends. All the menu items are great for both breakfast and lunch. The catfish on Friday's is some of the best in town.
All the wait staff/cooks call you by name when you walk in the door so it's like being at home.

Dennis Fleming

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best place to eat breakfast in Hot springs!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time in a year to visit Hot Springs. Also the second time to eat here. It did not let me down. From the time you walk in the door the staff is friendly, fun, and provides fast service. Shelly was outstanding. It was my family of 4, and we ordered a little of everything. We all agreed, everything we ordered was really good. This is not one to skip for breakfast!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“"Mom" cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This breakfast spot was recommended by the owner's son who runs the nearby go karts as "breakfast like your Mom used to make" with a lakefront view. Well, my mom wasn't an especially good cook (sorry, Mom), but it was a good location for us for a breakfast as we were leaving town.

It was a busy morning, although there was no wait. Typical breakfast spot with UA oilcloth tables, SEC and some other banners, and, yes, a lake view from some tables. The server was friendly but hurried, so we had time to peruse the menu. The top half was divided into eggs with choice of sides (potatoes, grits, fruit), bread, and meat add ons and omelets. The bottom half listed other usual breakfast choices - biscuits and gravy, eggs benedict, some sweeter items, such as french toast and pancakes, as well as a few other items.

Given the name and the fact that the restaurant sold the english muffins in bulk, of course we went for the muffins with our various egg dishes. There were, however, a couple of troublesome signs. The muffin selections posted on a nearby board sounded suspiciously like Orowheat and the jams and jellies on the table were in those little white single serve smuckers packs. Hmmm.

The kitchen was very slow in getting out orders and both servers and patrons waited and waited for orders, even though the restaurant didn't seem full.

When they finally arrived, our orders looked good with nicely browned potatoes (southern fries and hasbrowns). However, yep, those muffins were definitely Orowheat, a disappointment, but ultimately the best part of the meal. Over medium eggs were inedibly hard, scrambled were undercooked and quite runny, an omelet was basically edible, and those pretty potatoes had absolutely no seasoning of any type. Liberal use of the salt shaker and ketchup didn't help. The grits were also underseasoned and could have used some butter or something - anything. No one came close to cleaning his plate.

Sadly, this place could be so much more if the kitchen would work out its issues and use more homemade ingredients. Mom needs to step up her game.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Start to the Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Being just outside our hotel, we ate at the English Muffin every morning. They were packed everyday, but got us in and out quick with full stomachs. The food is great and the service is excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good food, packed house, service good, full & satisfied bellies!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The place was packed but a table opened up right away. It was very busy but I know why, the food was great!! We had the French toast, eggs Benedict, corn beef hash & waffles with fresh warm blueberries, and it was all very good. Kids even ate all their food. Our waitress was pleasant and no much if a wait for our Food. We will go back in our next visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The English Muffin also viewed

 
Hot Springs, AR
Hot Springs, AR
 

Been to The English Muffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The English Muffin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.