We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little seafood place on Lake Hamilton.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Wharf

Fisherman's Wharf
5101 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71913-9301
501 525 7437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 224 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great little seafood place on Lake Hamilton.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I would give this place 5 stars but for a couple of things. First, it's not a 5 star restaurant and does not pretend to be. Number 2, it is not quite worthy of the honor. The place sits right on the lake just east of the Hwy 7 bridge. The parking lot may make you wonder where the restaurant is, but when you walk down the steps to the entrance, it's pretty plain to see this is a nice little gem.
We entered and were seated promptly. Good thing, because I had to go back to the car a few minutes later and there were several waiting to be seated. There was plenty of room out on the covered dock, but it was a little chilly so I'm thinking they did not want to sit outside. The inside of the place was pretty packed.
There was some confusion on our wait staff. A young lady took our drink orders, the a young man came by a few minutes later and offered his services. They seemed to the this straightened out quickly, and I don't know the arrangement, but as long as they serve me well, I don't care.
The food was well above average. Catfish was done but not overcooked like many places. Nice yellow tint to the coating, not the brown you sometimes see. I had the crab as well which was a good portion and properly cooked and seasoned. We had a shrimp appetizer that was certainly good as well. Oh, and the oysters... We ordered a dozen and I was well pleased with our offering. They were not huge, but they were good, fresh, and big enough.
The beer was cold and the service was good.
Sitting on the deck was nice and you could stand by the edge and feed the ducks and geese who were gathered around for a free handout. They have a few "gumball machines" with fish/duck food or you can just sneak a few saltines over and feed them.
Overall, I would highly recommend trying this place if you are in HS and want some good seafood or catfish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    146
    84
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“*Come Hungry*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our third visit and we were not disappointed. Food is fresh, my wife had oysters on the half shell as an appetizer and I had peel and eat shrimp. My catfish and my wife's gumbo was excellent. another recent review said there were no hush puppies on the menu that is strange because I had wonderful hush puppies with my meal. We ate inside due to the cold weather and that was fine it was our first time to eat inside. If you can go when the weather is warm so you can eat on the outside covered deck which is out over the lake. it is a very casual and relaxed atmosphere. It is not unusual to have to wait for a table they are usually busy but the service is good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A True Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My daughter and I had the pleasure of eating at this restaurant while on vacation in Hot Springs. Fisherman's Wharf has the freshest and most delicious seafood that I have ever eaten. Although there were several restaurants near our hotel, we chose to eat at this one every single day for lunch or dinner. We will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Don't bother.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Other than having a view of the lake, there is nothing memorable about the food here. I would say it's somewhere between Long John Silvers and Red Lobster. Waitress brought hubby a Corona with no lime. My popcorn shrimp contained the veins. And no baked potatoes or hush puppies on the menu. Maybe come for a beer and the view but skip the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avinger, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I couldn't decide whether to rate this place average or poor, I decided on average. On one hand, most of the food our group of four had was good, not great, but good, and then on the other hand, the place was dirty. The whole place looked like a tornado hit it. Food was all over the carpet, you had to watch were you walked and the bathroom looked like a tornado hit it. Our group read the online reports before we went and they varied between poor, average and excellent. We almost didn't go. I will not go back. I understand it was Saturday night during racing season and they were busy, but the way they let it get gave me the feeling management just didn't care. Our waiter acted like he didn't care if you had a good experience or not either. He was just there to push the food out.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.