We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst sushi ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fuji Japanese Steakhouse - CLOSED

Fuji Japanese Steakhouse
608 E Grand Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901
501 321 1688
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst sushi ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just left this place at 1:30 on a Saturday. Only people in the restaraunt. Checked out sushi ba and it looked a little rough. Got an order of tuna and also order of salmon nigiri sushi. The fish was old. It looked and felt dried out from age. Tasted like an old piece of salmon in the quick sell section of a grocery store. Tasted rancid. We immediately sent it back and requested our bill. They charged us for the bad fish...we really didnt complain as we just wanted to get out of there. You don't serve rancid raw fish to people and get to stay in business. I have eaten sushi for many years from the very best to just your average places.

Had we eaten more than a small bite, which we had to spit out, this would have made us both ill.

Worst sushi experience ever. Health department should shut you down...or make you stop serving raw seafood.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Holy Sushi Batman!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Wow, the food was Awesome, our Chef was AMAZING, Had a GREAT time Very entertaining Great value Friendly staff. Highly Recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“DON'T DO IT!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Made reservations in advance, left an hour later without any dinner & was starving!! Husband had his sushi order & shrimp fried rice served and 30 minutes later I still had no entree. The Chardonnay was absolutely horrendous! And we waited 25 minutes after being seated before I had to locate a waitress to give her our order. There were only 3 other tables (all with 4 or less in their party) dining in the restaurant that evening, aside from the 5 guests seated around the only working hibachi grill with a chef, and we were completely disappointed in this facility!!!

THE BILL was $50 for a disgusting glass of Chardonnay, small plate of fried rice, & 2 sushi rolls! I do have my hand written receipt for this! Not to mention we missed our next engagement because we were detained in this terrible place for an hour & 36 minutes for no reason except to ruin our evening & cause my husband to experience symptoms of nausea, vomiting, & gastroenteritis after consuming the 2 sushi rolls.
On a brighter note, the only 3 employees on clock that night (hibachi chef & 2 waitresses) were very nice, but did NOT, obviously, know how to manage their time or prioritize their customer needs. That is all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Asian gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

While staying on East Grand Avenue Hot Springs Arkansas the desk clerk at our hotel suggested the Fuji Japanese Restaurant. The restaurant sells beer and wine and our meal was delicious.
We had shrimp and scallop skewer - we shared - and teriyaki chicken which included miso soup and salad with ginger dressing. our other choice was Yaki Soba noodles with pork and vegetables. this was around $40 with 2 glasses of wine. This restaurant was a great alternative to fast food or deep fried mains with fries whichever is often on offer in American style restaurants. give it a try.
A family run restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas, United States
1 review
“Horrible, just horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

For 20 years I have dined here and it was my preferred Japanese dining choice. Since the ownership change it has not only become my second choice (there are only 2) but i would rather fast for a day than eat here. The table service is friendly, but the new owners have cheapened everything, food is horrible, service is slow. And god help you if there is something wrong with your dinner.

We were one of only 2 tables dining there on a Friday night. I remember when you would have to wait to get a table here. Our rice was served cold and under cooked, our tempura was cold and the entree burnt. We told the manager who turned her back on us and walked away.

We ate what we could and offered to pay for everything other than the burnt item which we did not eat but 1 bite of. It was only then that they offered to remake the one item but would not let us return it. We paid the bill and went to Arby's which i would highly recommend over Fuji's

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuji Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuji Japanese Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.