We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty carpets and filthy rooms. Poor value.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Hotel & Spa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Central Avenue, Hot Springs, AR 71901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Hot Springs
Cut Off, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nasty carpets and filthy rooms. Poor value.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was very disappointed in this hotel. We were "upgraded" to an efficiency room. The carpet was torn and ripped in several places and was very dirty. The wallpaper was ripped in several places and had been stapled back together. The kitchen area was filthy. The place offers free wi-fi although I was never able to access the internet. The sitting area was crammed full of furniture and the tv does not turn to face the bed so you can't watch TV while laying down. There were insufficent outlets in the room, Our phone stopped working on the second day and I was told that maintenance was gone for the day. A requested wake up call did not occur. The amenities were poor. The only good things about the hotel were the balcony and the comfy bed. It is run down and in sore need or an update. I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, General Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We apologize for your room not being up to standard. The issues you had on the room have been addressed. The extra furniture has been taken out and we're getting ready to re-carpet the room.
About the WIFI - we didn't have any other complaints about it not working.
This hotel was built in the 60's and there wasn't a need for lots of outlets then like there is in today world.
Regarding the phone problem and wakeup call issue, we called the phone company and they came the next day and fixed a problem at our switchboard.
Again we apologize...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    51
    45
    42
    82
See reviews for
50
80
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We went here for Labor Day weekend and had a really good time. We thought the place was pretty nice looking on the interior, only *very* quiet and empty during the middle of the week when we arrived. Some reviewers complained of the view outside their patio seeing only a mountain, but we found it very scenic, especially lit up at night. This may be an issue of floor, as we were on the 7th and it may not be as attractive just to see the bottom of the rock wall if you're near the ground floor. The restaurant attached to the hotel was pretty quiet and their breakfast buffet was actually a decent bargain at $10 a person, especially when they were custom making items upon request.

As far as issues of cleanliness, our hotel room was perfectly clean, and the only issue that I saw is that the window at our end of the hall had all manners of cobwebs. I actually pointed this out to the front desk, more out of helping them avoid negative reviews than because I actually cared. They responded that it was part of a project to clean these windows, and they were taking it one floor at a time. I thought this was an odd response, as it should only take a person one morning to clean two windows a floor for about 10 floors.

The front staff was always polite and helpful. The only real complaint I had was about the manager herself. We had booked the romance package, which included vouchers for various restaurants and services. Due to Hurricane Isaac, it rained every night we were there and we were unable to use the voucher for a carriage ride. When we went to the front desk to see if there was anything else we could get, they called the manager who told them that no substitutions were allowed and since we had been there a few days, we should have taken the carriage ride on a different day(when it was also raining). When we checked out the next morning and made this complaint, the front desk staff made a comment to the effect of, "oh, we could have given you a free breakfast, that's within our power". Which was said to us after we had already eaten breakfast and paid for it.

Good:
Nice value for the rooms
Good central location
Scenic view out the back of the hotel, provided you are high enough up.
Good value on the attached restaurant

Bad:
Parking lot was kind of scary looking, slightly chopped up and had a "Park at your own risk" sign. Not a good first impression, but things got better.
Manager was not willing to work with us on getting an alternate option for a service when we had chosen a VIP romance package and had been "rained out".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This has been our 5th year to stay at the hotel. The staff goes out of their way to make us happy and feels like we have known them for ever and are family. Our room has always been clean and welcoming. There was bad weather one night and we were out on our bikes, when we returned they asked if we were ok and glad we had no problems. We will always stay at this hotel. Ms Virginia and staff our super.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I went back and forth on trying to decide between the arlington and the springs hotel. I've stayed at the Arlington before and I was not impressed so against the bad reviews I decided to stay at the springs hotel and I'm soo glad I made that choice. The staff were VERY friendly and the rooms were much nicer than the rooms at the Arlington. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and the main strip and it was very nice. The bar in the lobby had karaoke and on Friday it was dead but on Saturday my husband and I had soo much fun because of the crowd that it drew in. I was very pleased with our stay despite all the bad reviews and personally I don't understand where any of these people were coming from. It is perfectly located and we absolutely loved being able to walk to anything we wanted to :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

For a few dollars more stay at the Arlington hotel & spa. Its less than a block away. The Spring Hotel has no porters to help you with your luggage. The carpet in the hallways are raggedy. The refrigertor door in our room would not stay closed and the wallpaper was peeling away. The Spring Hotel had karokee. The Arlington had a live band. We informed the staff of our unpleasant experience and they did nothing to better our stay....

Room Tip: call ahead to see what the hotel offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Sorry, but no we don't have valet service. The hallway carpets were replaced with new carpeting 4 years ago and none of our hallways have any ragged carpeting. If this guest had called the front desk in regards to any room issues we would have had maintenance take care of them & maybe even moved them to another room. The restaurant in the hotel is leased out to another company and it's their decision on what entertainment they have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This place smells, there is no air conditioner, there is 1 ice machine on the 1st floor, the "fan" in the room only works on 1 speed and that send smelly air all through the room. Trying to get my money back has been a nightmare. Not 1 person there knows what is going on and can or will help with the process. I wanted a nice long weekend of peace from a crappy week at home and it took me 3 steps into the hotel to know that this was a bad choice. I had not seen this site to check it out or I assure all of you that I would have moved on quickly. Just because it is a Historic hotel does not mean it needs to be an smelly, moldy, only updated and nice in the lobby. Staying down on the other end of town by the lake was awesome and much more quiet.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
This hotel doesn't smell and we have no mold! We have air conditioning throughout the hotel which is run from a chiller on the roof.. Our 1st floor is the Lobby and no there is no ice-machine located here. If this guest had called the front desk, the maintenance staff would have assisted this guest with their AC problem. But we hope they were happier by the lake where they wanted to be anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was my second stay here. I love the location but I knew they were doing renovations our first stay so we decided to give it a second chance. Everything still looked the same & they leave a lot to be desired.

Our reservation had been lost so it took almost am hour to get checked in.

The bathroom had been cleaned but the bathtub had not been cleaned properly. There was water stains in the corner of the room & the carpeting is kinda gross.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Renovations are not always to be seen - but this year 2012 we've had a new roof put on the hotel in Jan/Feb 2012 - also all the balconies and outside of the hotel was repainted in May/June 2012.
We are sorry this guests reservation got lost. Also, once checked in - if the guest had called the front desk, we would have sent a housekeeper right a way to reclean the bathtub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Hotel & Spa

Address: 135 Central Avenue, Hot Springs, AR 71901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Springs Hotel & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Springs Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Hotel Hot Springs
The Springs Hotel And Spa
Springs Hotel Hot
Downtowner Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.