We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in the Wall places are usually very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Whiskers

Mr. Whiskers
1538 Malvern Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901
501 262 3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 229 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hole in the Wall places are usually very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This little "hole in the wall" place is very good. We just happened to be in the neighborhood and I was having a hankering for some catfish. So glad we chose to go here. I had heard the food was good but I had no idea how good. The place was clean and welcoming. The helpings are plenty and having eaten catfish all my life I was impressed with how fresh this was. It was cooked to perfection and came with 2 sides. Don't let the little strip-mall (where it's located) deter you. Give it a try and you won't be disappointed. They also serve chicken and bbq plus they cater.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    26
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

After seeing the high marks, we made our way over for dinner (be careful they close at 8 during the week) and were extremely happy we did, this was probably our favorite meal of our trip. All of the food is fried fresh and perfectly, plus the burgers were great. I really enjoyed the sauce bar with all sorts of things to dip your fried goodies in. The Parmesan sauce was awesome! I don't think you could order anything bad here, so don't miss it! The staff was overly nice as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food. Casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Mr whiskers is in a shopping center so it can be easy to miss. It's a small diner and the staff was incredibly friendly. My wife ordered my son a burger and he later said he had asked for chicken. One of the staff brought him a chicken strip after she heard the conversation. Well above and beyond what I've seen in a loooong time. The food was good and everyone in our party of 7 was very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, OK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great service, average catfish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family has a tradition of having fish frys so I have pretty high expectations. As such I found Mr. Whiskers catfish to be good but not great. I felt the food had a strong taste and was somewhat overcooked. I did enjoy the atmosphere, the service was really good and the people very nice. The people eating with me raved about the fried shrimp so if I go again that is the dish I plan to order. I did enjoy the coleslaw and hushpuppies.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really good food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We tried the oysters; catfish; chicken; and ribs. Everything was great, as were the hush puppies; friendly staff ensured a great time too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Whiskers also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Whiskers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Whiskers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.