We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fried delights!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Whiskers

Mr. Whiskers
1538 Malvern Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901
501 262 3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 235 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Super fried delights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I ventured here from the main drag after reading some great reviews and we were not disappointed. The place is tucked in a strip mall, a little hard to find. The menu features fried catfish, oysters, shrimp, and chicken. I went for the catfish while my wife had the oysters and shrimp. Both of us were satisfied. Every kind of dipping sauce is available, but you should give the "whisker sauce" a whirl.
They also offer hamburgers and po' boys if you're not into fried food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Big thanks for us all at Mr. Whiskers'!!!

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    31
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The catfish was very good, the breading was light and crunchy, and the hushpuppies were excellent. My daughter had the pulled pork which was quite tasty and my son had the hamburger, which was also good! The wait staff was very friendly. All in all, a great meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Erin,

Thanks a lot!!! our BBQ is cook right here on site in the smokehouse!!

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our second visit to Mr. Whiskers was just as good as the first! Hearty portions of hot catfish with fries, pups and killer coleslaw. The remoulade house dipping sauce is worth the visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
“Consistently great!” Thanks Rico!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
2 reviews
“Third time wasnt a charm....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was my wife and my 3rd trip in the last two months to Whiskers. Each time befoe it was great. This time it was not at all the same. The fish was soft and broken when it came out. The hushpuppies were not done in the middle. the grilled plate that my wife ordered might have swam off the plate. It was undercooked. We will never come back if they dont care about their service moe than this. I never write reviews, but tonight I wish I had gone to McDonalds.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great catfish and hushpuppies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The breading was light, nothing was greasy or fishy tasting. We had the catfish and shrimp and both were quite tasty. And the hushpuppies were just right. While not a double table cloth restaurant, we were there for the food, and that makes this place a winner. An exceptional value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks Les,
Come see us again, next trip to Arkansas!!
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Whiskers also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Whiskers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Whiskers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.