We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great catfish and hushpuppies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Whiskers

Mr. Whiskers
1538 Malvern Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901
501 262 3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 235 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great catfish and hushpuppies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The breading was light, nothing was greasy or fishy tasting. We had the catfish and shrimp and both were quite tasty. And the hushpuppies were just right. While not a double table cloth restaurant, we were there for the food, and that makes this place a winner. An exceptional value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks Les,
Come see us again, next trip to Arkansas!!
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    33
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southaven
2 reviews
“Great Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The place was a little hard to find(it's not easily visible from Malvern ave) but it was worth the trouble. The fish was perfectly cooked and very good, the breading was just right. the fries and hush puppies were also wonderful as well as rhe coleslaw. We had the bread pudding for dessert
it was very good too.The staff was friendly and courteous and made every effort to take good care of us. If I lived in the area, I'd defenitly be a regular customer. Try the Mr. Whiskers sauce on the fish!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks Casey!
Come back and see us next time you guys come this way!!
Thanks Again!
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwod
1 review
“Good Food Horrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The food was good, but I seemed to have annoyed the man at the register playing his video games and the short grey haired lady was rude. Go for the food, don't expect much else. When you see someone playing a game rather than taking your order and get talked smart to, it takes away from things....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
This is not the way we do business so i have to question this review....but if we offended you in any way I apologize. We don't play games at Mr. Whiskers, take a look at our reviews and you can see that.
Scott Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummmmmy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The fried catfish, fries, hush puppies, coleslaw and pickled green tomatoes were all perfect ..... Friendly staff awesome food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for the Yummmmmy review!!! Hope to see you again soon....
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good catfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I grew up in Georgia and my older brother provided catfish for several popular restaurants. He could prepare the very best catfish I ever had. This was not as good as his but it is a lot better than you will find in most places. The breading was crispy and the fish flavored nicely. Catfish is very mild so it doesn't take much. Just can't understand the places that put garlic in their breading. If you like good catfish you should try Mr. Whiskers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for the fish review you seem to have a little knowledge about catfish so this is a exciting review to read!!!!
Thanks Again,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Whiskers also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Whiskers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Whiskers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.