We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Horrible Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Whiskers

Mr. Whiskers
1538 Malvern Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901
501 262 3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 224 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Glenwod
1 review
“Good Food Horrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The food was good, but I seemed to have annoyed the man at the register playing his video games and the short grey haired lady was rude. Go for the food, don't expect much else. When you see someone playing a game rather than taking your order and get talked smart to, it takes away from things....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
This is not the way we do business so i have to question this review....but if we offended you in any way I apologize. We don't play games at Mr. Whiskers, take a look at our reviews and you can see that.
Scott Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    40
    14
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummmmmy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The fried catfish, fries, hush puppies, coleslaw and pickled green tomatoes were all perfect ..... Friendly staff awesome food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for the Yummmmmy review!!! Hope to see you again soon....
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good catfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I grew up in Georgia and my older brother provided catfish for several popular restaurants. He could prepare the very best catfish I ever had. This was not as good as his but it is a lot better than you will find in most places. The breading was crispy and the fish flavored nicely. Catfish is very mild so it doesn't take much. Just can't understand the places that put garlic in their breading. If you like good catfish you should try Mr. Whiskers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for the fish review you seem to have a little knowledge about catfish so this is a exciting review to read!!!!
Thanks Again,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Catfish - perfect breading”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, my wife & I went there to enjoy some Southern comfort food. We loved it. There is a fine balance you have to have when you cook catfish, cook it too long and it is dry and hard, too little and yuck. This was perfect. The breading was flavorful but thin enough not to overwhelm the catfish and not greasy at all. They have a really good sauce that compliments it well, aptly named 'Mr. Whisker's Sauce'. The fries were crisp, the coleslaw was just right and the hush puppies were hot and delicious. We added a side of the tomato relish and it was excellent as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
C4_ever,
That might be one of the best writen reviews I have ever read ANYWHERE!!! Awesome!!
Thanks so much!
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best catfish & shrimp we've had - excellent fries, cole slaw too, we will be coming back! Very friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent food & service by a very friendly staff, we will be coming back for great catfish and shrimp. If you like your fried food prepared perfectly, this is the place to come to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott1538, Owner at Mr. Whiskers, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
"Best catfish & shrimp we've had" Wow!!!! Thanks for stopping by, hope to see you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Whiskers also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Whiskers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Whiskers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.