We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great super casual fish joint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Whiskers

Mr. Whiskers
1538 Malvern Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901
501 262 3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 235 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great super casual fish joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Hungry for some good fried catfish? Go to Mr. Whiskers! This was some of the best catfish I've had and the shrimp were also exceptionally good. Everything was fresh and cooked to order and the people working here are so super friendly. Only thing missing is an outdoor patio!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    32
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The other reviews are right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I ate there today and all our food was very tasty. We both had the fish plate and a soft drink for a total of $20.

Service was friendly and efficient. The mgr said the catfish were farm raised from Mississippi. They were great as was the slaw, hushpuppies and the fries.

It is located in a strip center but there is plenty of parking.

We are only in Hot Springs for a week, but we plan on going back to Mr. Wiskers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Good food at reasonable price. Portions were very large. Fries tasted fresh & not frozen. Chicken also good. Again tasted fresh not frozen. Catfish was mild & was fried nicely. The batter was quite plain. Coleslaw was good. Hushpuppies were very good. Cooked perfectly.

Service was quick & servers were friendly.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Fish in Arkansas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I eat alot of fish places in Arkansas. My house is 40 minutes from Mr. Whiskers, but we make the drive twice a month just for the fish. I always get the fish, shrimp and oysters. Its always great. After a recent trip to New Orleans, im very picky about my seafood now. Mr. Whiskers could be in the French Quater its soo good. Shrimp is as good as any I had in NOLA, and the oysters are too. Highly Reccomend Mr. Whiskers anytime youre in Hot Springs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Nice Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Working in the city for a few days and sought out something good to eat and found this place. The food was great and the staff friendly. The place was clean and prices reasonable-will be back when in the city and want catfish! Co-Worker had the burger and they enjoyed it-said it reminded her of a home-cooked burger. Try it-you'll be glad you did...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Whiskers also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Whiskers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Whiskers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.