We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly The Best Catfish Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Whiskers

Mr. Whiskers
1538 Malvern Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901
501 262 3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 243 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Possibly The Best Catfish Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Keep in mind I'm from South Louisiana and this is perhaps the best catfish I've ever eaten. Lightly breaded so you can taste the fish which was excellent. Good hushpuppies, great coleslaw. Wish I would have ordered a rib.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    40
    14
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Poised to be a legendary resturant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Went with party of 4
Big menu on wall. Anything on the menu is very good to great
Try it , you will love it!
Well worth the effort!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seafood and catfish are de-lish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Catfish is tender inside, hot and crispy on the outside. Shrimp and oysters are tender and have a crisp light coating on the outside. Hush puppies and cole slaw are great. Nothing's over-salted. Super friendly staff. You will love it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I loved everything!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We ate here based strictly on Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. I got the basket with two catfish fillets, four fried oysters, and four fried shrimp. It came with cole slaw , fries, and hushpuppies. Just because another reviewer raved about the chicken, I also ordered a chicken strip. I'm glad I did, because I think the chicken was the very best thing I ate. I will have a very difficult decision next time trying to decide my order. It will be very difficult to not get the chicken next time. But hey, that's what combination baskets are for.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsicana, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp PoBoy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Tried this on a recommendation from Trip Advisor and must say we were not disappointed! Shrimp PoBoy was delicious. Got our food to go and the portions were great. Will definitely eat here again on our next visit!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Whiskers also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Whiskers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Whiskers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.