We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Expensive--Not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arkansas Alligator Farm & Petting Zoo

Arkansas Alligator Farm & Petting Zoo
847 Whittington Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901
501-623-6172
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 62 things to do in Hot Springs
Attraction details
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too Expensive--Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff was friendly and the grounds were well kept, but it only took 10 minutes to see all the animals. The alligators were plentiful, but I was more impressed with an alligator farm in LA and it was less expensive. I say skip this and go somewhere else.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    45
    26
    13
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great outing - hidden in plain sight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I think the most important thing to tell people is be sure to go on the days they are doing a feeding show which I believe are on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday at noon. (Thank you to CDM322 for putting that tip in your review) That is by far what's worth the price of admission. As was also pointed out - the alligators don't move around much otherwise. It's a good opportunity to learn about them, ask questions and see them in "action" (relatively speaking anyway). Feeding all three groups probably took 40-45 mins. - depending on whether people have questions it could take almost up to an hour I suppose.
The petting zoo was also very enjoyable. Although I must say once again - it was another experience for us where bratty kids and disinterested adults/parents cast a pall over an outing. You just let your little "animals" loose to run and torment and scare the animals and corner them in their pens?
Everyone is given bread to feed to the animals and after that the animals kind of take matters into their own hands - or mouths as the case may be. They start nibbling on just about anything. It's very hard to stand by and watch a kid encourage a baby kid to try and bite his shirt. One of these two should know this is not food and I'm pretty sure it's not the baby. Granted - he probably wouldn't actually eat the shirt - but there aren't any staff out there and on the off chance he did, then what? The kid runs away - doesn't say anything because he'll get in trouble because his shirt is ripped? Ok - enough from my soap box, but don't you usually come to these places because you LIKE animals and CARE about them? Animals aren't dumb - you should have seen the way some of the larger animals reacted to various groups that walked past them. Well - I use the term "walked" loosely.
Alright - so we did love the facility and learning about the alligators and getting an up close look as the various animals these house and take care of. Thankfully we had a relatively cool July day with some cloud cover and the people herd thinned and my girls actually got to pet some of the animals in the petting zoo after things calmed down.
I would definitely recommend it - how bout you make your visit a pleasant one for the farm/petting zoo residents?
Oh - one thing. Really - a .50 cent off coupon? Pretty much every other attraction in Hot Springs is a dollar... C'mon AR Alligator Farm...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Too Expensive.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I agree with the other reviews about the cost. The place seemed to be well maintained and the animals were enjoyable to watch/pet, but is cost 3 of us nearly $30 to enter and the entire thing took literally 20 minutes to walk through. And we even stopped to feed/pet the baby goats, hold a baby alligator, read facts about animals, and take plenty of pictures. Worth seeing to kill some time, but seriously need to lower prices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun place for kids!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Kids loved it!! Owners were very nice and friendly. Nice Gift Shop! Adults $12. Kids $9. It's only about 5 min away from downtown Hot Springs. Free parking and great time feeding the baby goats. The ostrich is a bit greedy sticking her neck to jump in front of everyone else's piece of bread. Fun!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Gator Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I took my little brother to see this exhibit. We went over the weekend, the staff before they feed the gators tell some facts about the animals and safety tips about the animals. They are taken care of and the gator exhibit was clean. Since this is a privately funded petting zoo I didn't expect it to be top tier. I would have been disappointed if I'd gone after the feeding time, the gators are not really that active. Its only worth visiting if you go see the gators feed, other wise it can be a little boring staring at the animals that dont move.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arkansas Alligator Farm & Petting Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Arkansas Alligator Farm & Petting Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arkansas Alligator Farm & Petting Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.