We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckstaff Bathhouse

Buckstaff Bathhouse
509 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901
501-623-2308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 31 Attractions in Hot Springs
Type: Historic Sites, Spas, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only working bathhouse left on "Bathhouse Row," a popular hot springs bathing area in the 1920s.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

What a unique experience. I thoroughly enjoyed the mineral bath and massage. The experience started with mineral bath, then a sitz bath, a steam, wrapped with hot towels and then a swedish massage. Sara was a wonderful bath attendant. Jennifer did a great job on the massage. My husband and daughter also enjoyed their experience. It is the best thing we did in Hot Springs!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    78
    19
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“relaxing and interesting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was my wife's main reason for coming to Hot Springs. She had a very interesting and nice experience, but thought that coming with her female friends would have been more enjoyable. This is the only bathhouse from the earlier days still operating in the traditional way.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent bath and massage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a bath while we were on a leisure trip in November. I am so glad we did! The bath was relaxing, and the staff was very professional. Sarah was an excellent attendant. Then, after all the steps of the bath, she passed me off to Karen who gave me a massage. She was an excellent massage therapist. She found all the tight spots and shared with me some stretches to do to loosen those areas up. I would definitely go back. The only drawback is that if you are extremely modest, this may be a bit much. I am modest, but in this instance, it didn't bother me. The attendants were very professional. My husband had a similar experience. He really enjoyed his bath. Thank you for such a relaxing bath in the Hot Springs mineral water! Hopefully we will be able to go back soon! Would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to experience a bath soaked in the history of the area (since there is so much history tied to the water and the baths in Hot Springs - you get to experience a part of history!!).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must have experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Buckstaff is amazing! I've been twice this year and loved very bit of both experiences. Do the $30 whirlpool with the loofa mit. You sit in a whirlpool tub for 20 minutes, followed by a sitz bath that does wonders for lower back pain, then you sit in the steam cabinet which is heaven!! After the steam cabinet they wrap you with warm towels and the last step is a shower. Anytime I'm in Arkansas I will definitely be coming to Buckstaff

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Little R & R”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Buckstaff is truly a classic from the past. The atmosphere and the architecture take you back in time. Each time I'm there I truly expect to see Al Capone or Bugsy Malone and their band of hooligans walk into the bathing area. The staff is truly great when it comes to their service in the bathing area. However, the massage is not what I expect when I get a massage back home. I prefer deep tissue in order for the muscles to worked to release and relax. At best the massage here consisted of little more than a rub down with lotion.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckstaff Bathhouse also viewed

 

Been to Buckstaff Bathhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckstaff Bathhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.