We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle Ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ouachita National Forest

Ouachita National Forest
P.O. Box 1270, Hot Springs, AR 71902
501 321 5202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 31 Attractions in Hot Springs
Type: Forests, National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Driving, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This huge forest consists of 1.7 million acres of mountainous terrain in western Arkansas and eastern Oklahoma.
North Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Motorcycle Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Motorcycle riding was awesome! Beautiful scenic hwy. Loved the small towns. The people were all very friendly

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    16
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good trails, lots of options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

there were lots of options for places to go - trails to explore and the lake, marina and activities. this is worth a return visit as we were just passing through on our motorcycles and took a break and a walk on one of the trails to work out the stiffness from the ride.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Amazing Place for a Long Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Ouachita National Forest is a beautiful part of this country. As a runner who lives in Conway, I love going out to Lake Sylvia in the Ouachita National Forest for a weekly long run. The part of the 200+ mile long Ouachita National Recreation Trail I have been on is beautiful. An even better part of the Ouachita National Forest to run on is the Winona Scenic Drive. It will be hilly, but there are some beautiful views of the forest while on this dirt road. Anyone who is a nature lover should definitely check out this part of Arkansas. However, I would advise always going with at least one other person to this forest. The vast expanse of this forest means that if you get lost or injured, you will be for some serious trouble.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Little Missouri Falls...wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Took the long, winding gravel road through Albert Pike and the National forest up to the falls. The road is gravel, with some areas that are downright rocky...however, I never was concerned in my jeep Cherokee and saw several sports cars making the trip. It's about 10 miles at 10-20 mph but the scenery is fantastic.

At the falls, there are picnic areas, bathrooms and parking.

The falls themselves are beautiful...cold clear water with cascades and deep pools to swim in, and shallow areas to wade and splash.

The potential for injury is high, though. Even with water shoes the terrain is tough to navigate and slippery. There are areas of the falls accessible for most who are able to walk stairs but to explore the whole area you need to be quite able to climb, balance, and scramble.

I would recommend you travel with a first aid kit. A child fell while we were there and cut her leg pretty deeply on a rock. Luckily her parents had a first aid kit to clean and bandage the wound.

All in all, an amazing day...and worth the risk if you are careful and supervise young children closely....accidents can happen anywhere!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great, gentle hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I hiked all all the trails close to Hot Springs. Easy hikes. Great views.
Took off right from downtown.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ouachita National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Ouachita National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ouachita National Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.