We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room full of dirty socks.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Resort on the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Resort on the Lake to your Saves list
Clarion Resort on the Lake
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4813 Central Ave (SR 7), Hot Springs, AR 71913   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
kentucky
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A room full of dirty socks.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The hotel is located in a beautiful location next to a lake. BUT, the rugs in the place need to be steam cleaned, and the rooms are so bad that they smell like dirty socks. The beer joint located in the hotel has food you can purchase - hamburgers, but who wants to eat in a place where the rooms smell. The old air conditioner units run all the time and they have to be turned off to get any sleep. Wouldn't recommend till they clan up the place.
The free internet in the room won't work. The business Center internet is difficult to use for certain web sites.
Kentucky Dave

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    37
    27
    15
See reviews for
45
44
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
COOKEVILLE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I found my room to be big and comfortable. It was right on the lake. Even provided me with a full moon. At no extra cost. How beautiful at night. Front desk very helpful. Yes I would stay here again. Side note this was a slow time of year just about had the hotel to my self.
Also there was no free breakfast. All in all for what I paid (used AAA) saved around $15.
It is a older hotel Once a Holiday Inn I think. With that said I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Upon checking into the hotel, the lady at the front desk was very helpful and polite. She saw me later that evening in the hallway and asked me how our room was and if we needed anything. We stayed two nights. When we were returning to our room on the second day, housekeeping stopped us in the hall and asked if we needed anything. Our room was clean and bright. The pool was very nice and clean. The area around the pool and boat dock was also very clean. There was a small problem with the tv, maintaince was sent right up and it was taken care of quickly. I liked the friendly staff and the cleanliness of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel is located on a main thoroughfare and is easily accesible. The view from the lakeside room is absolutely beautiful, however the rooms were overpriced for what you actually get. Be very careful about leaving valuables in your room. Someone stole 4 pairs of my wife's pants (brand new; tags still on) and 2 blouses. If they'll take these items, valuables will be fair game. Unless someome was issued our door key, it must have been an employee with room access, since we checked the door when we left the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at the Clarion on the Lake with another couple. We asked for connecting rooms but were told they were expecting a large crowd over the weekend and they could not put us on the same floor much less, connecting rooms. When we got to our room I called the front desk and asked them to send housekeeping to dust the room. Twenty minutes later I happened to be in the lobby and heard the manager on duty ask the front desk attendant to go and clean the room. (No housekeepers on duty at 4:00?)
Went to the restaurant for breakfast. Waited 5 minutes and never saw an employee.
Went there again for dinner a few nights later and waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken. Only one staff person on duty. LOTS of kids. LOTS of noise at the pool. There was a wedding reception, high school reunion, and a boat show all going on at the hotel. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotspringsclarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Resort on the Lake, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Unfortunately the guest never reported a problem to anyone at the property, so we were unable to investigate what happened. We take security at the Clarion on the Lake seriously
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel does not qualify as a resort. The rooms are very small and the beds are some of the most uncomfortable I have ever come across. This hotel is in need of a huge remodel. For the amount paid for our stay, I expected much more. The place looks and smells like a 1970's motel. Be careful when getting drinks from the bar to take to the pool. You get a very small plastic cup with a weak drink for the same price as the full sized in the bar. The hotel is also a good distance from the main part of town. Our air conditioner had to be repaired during the stay and the toilet ran almost constantly. The only positive is the pool by the lake.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

The location and view are perfect. The rooms and facilities were up to date, stylish and clean. The pillowtop mattress was very comfortable and in-room fridge convenient. More importantly, every single staff member in the building was very courteous friendly. Not only management, even house keeping and banquet staff went out of their way to greet and speaking kindly. Very, very impressive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Resort on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort on the Lake

Address: 4813 Central Ave (SR 7), Hot Springs, AR 71913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Resort on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort On The Lake Hotel Hot Springs
Clarion Resort Hot Springs
Clarion Hot Springs
Hot Springs Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Resort on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.