We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Ouachita

Lake Ouachita
Hot Springs, AR
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 38 attractions in Hot Springs
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Canoeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The largest lake in Arkansas covers 48,300 acres.
Duncanville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited the State Park, and went hiking on the main trail. It was great. The lake was beautiful, and water was clear. Next time we would like to stay at the cabins in the state park, they have a view of the lake from their balcony.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    24
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a beautiful lake. Our family had a terrific time boating, fishing, and tubing. Scenery was terrific. The scenery is amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for boaters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Over Labor Day weekend, we rented site A01. All of the sites on loop A have shoreline access so you can keep your boat in the water for the duration of the stay.

Bathrooms were clean and had hot water. They were not far - a 2 minute walk from this site.

I would like to mention the trash drop off is between sites 3 and 4 so that would not be my first choice for camping.

The only improvements i would request for this site is to have water at each site and level tent pads. We made do, but it would be nice!!

We saw lots of deer - pretty neat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio,TX United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Ouachita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a very large tent site, within walking distance of the restrooms that were clean and checked regularly. Parking was plentiful. The personnel were very friendly and informative. This lake is huge and offers excellent boating and fishing (the Bass Pro Championship is held on lake Ouachita once a year), there's even a swim beach! There are several islands you can camp, swim or just picnic on, giving you the feeling you are the only one on the lake!.Who said "skinnydipping"? Marina's were well stocked and not overpriced. This lake is clean and beautiful! Looking forward to going back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One of the Cleanest Lakes in America”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful lake with little development, so plenty of room to camp and harbor your boat on distant shores. The water is gorgeous and clean. In fact, you can get certified for Scuba Diving in this jewel of a lake.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Ouachita also viewed

 

Been to Lake Ouachita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Ouachita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Ouachita to your Saves list